We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Civic Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Civic Center
710 Williamson Road, Roanoke, VA 24016
540-853-2241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 28 attractions in Roanoke
Type: Civic Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Western Virginia's premier full-service convention, exhibition and cultural complex, the center plays host to popular Broadway shows as well as big name music concerts.
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not a bad venue but never any good performers unless you're a huge fan of country or over the hill heavy metal acts.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Large venue with smalltown service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Attended a women's conference there over the weekend. While it housed 10,000 plus for this weekend's event, everything ran smoothly and effeciently. There was staff to direct you to your seating, the bathroom situation was well thought out and with 10,000 women, this is a feat in and of itself! Snack areas and merch areas were well labeled and were well ran. I don't have a complain all week except for the parking area. Getting 10,000 folks in/out of any area is tricky but I think that when the event was over at night, law enforcement should have been engaged more to get the folks through the intersections and out onto the major highways in a more orderly fashion...with that said, I'd return again but I'd park downtown and walk to the venue...something we did several times over the weekend. For $6, park downtown, grab a latte and have a nice short walk and AVOID the chaos!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It is big but it is great. It has great people who is there to assist you with great attitudes, organized. I would go back again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Seats too close”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Attending an ordination serive for the United Methodist Conference. The seats not on the floor were spaced way too close. Many of the cushion seats were broken.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

While they had an exhibit of a few life-sized dinosaur models, with some you could touch, it was designed for small children and not for adults! If I'd had my grandchildren with me it would have been great - alone I just wasted money.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Civic Center also viewed

 

Been to Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Civic Center to your Saves list