We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of old Smokey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Mountain Star and Park

Mill Mountain Star and Park
210 Reserve Ave., Roanoke, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 attractions in Roanoke
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A "must see" on most visitors list, an 88-foot manmade star (the largest in the world) sits on majestic Mill Mountain along with a beautifully landscaped city park, that boasts hiking and biking trails, and a zoo.
Haddam, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“On top of old Smokey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you get to Roanoke, Mill Mountain is a must see. Roanoke is the star city and one trip to the mountain and you'll see why. The panoramic views of the Roanoke Valley are truly stunning. The view is totally free, so don't miss it!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    75
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Day or Night Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Star has always been the go-to place for getting a different perspective on our city, for long talks with friends, and for just a fun place to go. I am happy to share it with my boys now. They love to go in the rain or in the dark just as much as on sunny days. There is always a different vibe, depending on the weather, time of year, time of day, etc. The trail is a great place to see butterflies, the occasional lizard or turtle, and local fauna. We have seen snakes on the road heading up the mountain, much to the delight of the entire family, as well as deer. We haven't seen either at Star itself, though. This is also a great place to view Christmas lights, fireworks, and to teach kids where things are around town from an aerial view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice little park on the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We didn't get to stay very long and the observation deck was crowded at the time we decided to go, but the view was amazing, even if you weren't at the edge. The park was shady and well maintained. There were picnic tables and benches around and there were a few trails around that looked nice but we weren't able to hike them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful overview of the Roanoke Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The star itself is interesting, but not much to look at up close. The park includes multiple hiking and bike trails and there is also a small zoo. We walked the garden there and saw multiple chipmunck, squirrels, and birds galore. The overlook of the Roanoke Valley is a stunning view. The park is just off the Blue Ridge Parkway if you want a butiful drive with intermittent spectacular vistas.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I appreciate the night view here. Termendously, zoo? Eh. Wish they would develop this into more. It has geeat potential. Kinda nice to go sit with a bf/gf for a bit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Mountain Star and Park also viewed

 

Been to Mill Mountain Star and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Mountain Star and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mill Mountain Star and Park to your Saves list