We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Mountain Zoo

Mill Mountain Zoo
Mill Mountain, Roanoke, VA
540-343-3241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 attractions in Roanoke
Type: Zoos
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Vistors are wowed by the more than 45 species of animals at this zoo, including rare and endangered breeds like the snow leopard, the white-naped crane and the clouded leopard.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

First of all, let me just say that this is not at all on the same scale as a larger zoo, and won't be compared to one. It is a sweet little family zoo - a long time treasure in Roanoke. The Zoo Choo is not to be missed! There is a surprisingly large number of animals for such a small place. Some of the best photos from the last visit were of a tortoise being presented with a huge tray of fresh fruits and veggies for his lunch, and of my son petting a giant bunny that was just hopping around visiting with guests. Always a great place to visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    21
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Animal torture”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I don't know if all zoos are as pitiful and saddening as ours, but be prepared to see big animals stuck in little cages running in circles because they are going crazy. I don't even have pets, but I found the zoo to be depressing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little zoo with great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are looking for the San Diego zoo, then you will want to readjust your expectations. This is a little zoo with a small collection and a nice staff. What really struck us was that it sits on the top of a mountain so that the views of the animals blend in with the great views off the mountain

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average for what we got to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

didn't get to see too much because it started pouring the rain down. little disappointing. the gift shop was small but had nice things.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Trip advisor refused my first review so I'm writing again. Visited the zoo with grandchildren. There are very few animals viewable at any one time. The animals living conditions are poor. For the same amount of money in North Carolina Aquarium they have spectacular numbers of different fish living in a humane environment.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Mountain Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mill Mountain Zoo to your Saves list