We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny but fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Mountain Zoo

Mill Mountain Zoo
Mill Mountain, Roanoke, VA
540-343-3241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Zoos
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Vistors are wowed by the more than 45 species of animals at this zoo, including rare and endangered breeds like the snow leopard, the white-naped crane and the clouded leopard.
Brevard County, FL
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Tiny but fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The zoo is small but offers insights into some animals which are not on exhibit elsewhere. In my travels I visit many zoos which are usually reciprocal to my membership in my local zoo. I enjoy seeing and learning about different animals. For example, I had never seen a wolverine before and found that the one at this zoo had been donated by Jack Hanna of the famous Columbus Zoo. They also had Red Pandas and Pallas Cats. There was a train ride which encircled the zoo and a play area for young children as well as a small snack area. Enjoyed this visit!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    25
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Snow leopard & red panda!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I was thinking this wouldnt be much but was surprised. The zoo was well maintained and had a few animals id never seen before like the red panda and snow leopard. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small, but still fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This zoo is on the small side when compared to others like NC Zoo. I went here as a child and then again on a "field trip" in college. Beautiful area..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small, but great for little kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This zoo is great for about K-3rd grade. The zoo is small, easily walkable and since little ones have small attention spans, no one gets bored.

That being said, it's EXPENSIVE for what you get. I know they have to keep the zoo going, but a large percentage of the exhibits are closed/empty and when I'm paying that much money, I want to see everything the zoo has.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but has some very interesting animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We took a group to visit this zoo. Very small but the animals are beautiful. They are doing some work on some of the exhibits, so be sure to check before you go. The views are breathtaking and the zoo choo was fun for kids.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Mountain Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.