We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium
One Market Square SE, 4th Floor, Roanoke, VA 24011
+1 540-342-5710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fun for the whole family, the Science Museum of Western Virginia features a tropical butterfly garden filled with butterflies from around the world; fun and interactive exhibits exploring Healthy Bodies, Healthy Earth and How It Works; live animals and the popular "FROGS"; the Living River & Touch Tank; and amazing traveling exhibits such as "TUTANKHAMUN: Wonderful Things From The Pharaoh's Tomb," running June 14-Dec. 31, 2014.
Shawsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I love how nice the museum looks since they remodeled. I love the butterfly exhibit and the "Lab" for doing small experiments. The re-model made this a top notch museum in the Roanoke Valley.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Many, many interactive science displays. Fun for all ages. Obviously designed primarily for children, but we (ages 66 and 69) also had a great time. The butterfly garden is very impressive, small but well maintained with lots of colorful plants and butterflys.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This museum is trying to keep up with the times. Nice to see that. This can entertain young and old alike. Plenty of good walking, plenty of things to see...makes for a nice afternoon out with or without the kids. (Have to deal with the notorious parking of Roanoke, but once you get past that...makes for a good time.)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Butterfly Garden and the Science Lab.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a perfect outing for the 12-year old who was with me. The Butterfly Garden is charming, and the Lab was a great source of fun performing the experiments available with the lab tech. The City Market is just a few feet away from the Center in the Square, so we had so much fun combining the two things.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun with Science and Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Last week my great grandchildren, ages 12,10, 8 and 6 were visiting and we went to the Science Museum and Butterfly Garden. They loved it and we ended up in the lab near closing time and the teen age volunteers very patiently helped them with the experiments.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.