We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium
One Market Square SE, 4th Floor, Roanoke, VA 24011
+1 540-342-5710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 61 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun for the whole family, the Science Museum of Western Virginia features a tropical butterfly garden filled with butterflies from around the world; fun and interactive exhibits exploring Healthy Bodies, Healthy Earth and How It Works; live animals and the popular "FROGS"; the Living River & Touch Tank; and amazing traveling exhibits such as "TUTANKHAMUN: Wonderful Things From The Pharaoh's Tomb," running June 14-Dec. 31, 2014.
Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This museum is trying to keep up with the times. Nice to see that. This can entertain young and old alike. Plenty of good walking, plenty of things to see...makes for a nice afternoon out with or without the kids. (Have to deal with the notorious parking of Roanoke, but once you get past that...makes for a good time.)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Butterfly Garden and the Science Lab.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a perfect outing for the 12-year old who was with me. The Butterfly Garden is charming, and the Lab was a great source of fun performing the experiments available with the lab tech. The City Market is just a few feet away from the Center in the Square, so we had so much fun combining the two things.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun with Science and Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Last week my great grandchildren, ages 12,10, 8 and 6 were visiting and we went to the Science Museum and Butterfly Garden. They loved it and we ended up in the lab near closing time and the teen age volunteers very patiently helped them with the experiments.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for family activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Roanoke has done a great job bringing in all that is available at the Science Museum, good wholesome family fun and very Educational!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the admission”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

First of all, I'm from Roanoke so I visited the original museum with my son many times & I'm privy to the amount spent on the renovation so with that taken into consideration I think it was a very poor job done. The museum is very boring & extremely sparse. The most interesting part is the free aquariums in the 1st floor lobby, and the butterfly atrium. The cost is approx $15 for adults & $12 for kids which I find to be a total rip off. There is a touch tank which is fun but the exhibits are rather stale & unimpressive. I only hope that they are planning to add to this museum. I waited 2 yrs before I visited so that I could try to forget the old museum but was still sorely disappointed. The free parts of the building where the museum is housed are the most interesting.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Science Museum of Western Virginia & Hopkins Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.