We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Poor but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony House Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony House Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Colony House Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Bent mountain, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average to Poor but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I prefer independent motels. But it turns out that this hotel is associated with Hampton Inns. Room 437 is shabby. The tub barely drains. The mirror has chips in it. The AC unit is incredibly loud and blows the drape way out into the room. The TV picture quality is so bad, it wasn't worth it to turn on the TV. The bed was very uncomfortable and very caved in on the right side. You have to request shampoo and other toiletries at the desk. The rates are no longer the cheapest in town. If there are rooms available at the econolodge Civic Center or the Super 8, I'd say to stay there, rather than here. The location is very good, though. The "busy" road quiets way down after 8:30 pm. Several restaurants are right next to it, and there's a K-Mart across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Colony House Motor Lodge is independent and not associated with any other hotels or motels which helps us maintain our very reasonable rate structure. Management appreciates feedback on our facilities and follows up on all complaints. Thank you for highlighting our excellent location which affords easy access to many attraction in the Roanoke Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    10
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
19
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My laundry was torn in their dryer. There were holes in the sheets and cover. Staff is not helping out, didn't solve our problems. They even promised to call us afterwards to solve problems but never called. If the manager is away and there is a problem, the manager is not reachable, staff is not able or allowed to solve problems. Place needs an upgrade and better service. Mattress wasn't comfortable. There are probably much better places to stay. Expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Take a bed and breakfast instead of a motel in this town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
As a family owned small business, our front desk personnel function in many capacities and are our onsite managers when the general manager is off site. Resolving guest's issues are a priority, and we are sorry that you feel your laundry complaint was not handled to your satisfaction. Inspection of the guest laundry facility has revealed no deficiencies. New linens were purchased in May and have been in service. All our housekeeping staff has been with us for years and are frequently complimented on the care of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Neat clean and quiet, I stayed here on a Sunday night, got a great nights rest at a reasonable price and won't look anywhere else the next time I'm in Roanoke. The Motel sits on a busy road in the City but I never heard a so much as car door close.

Welcomed at a late hour without a reservation by Ed and shared a few laughs with the nice Lady behind the desk in the morning who had worked there as her very first job and then returned when her children went to college.

Nothing fancy but eminently functional the real value in this inn comes from the warmth of it's people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Even though some time has passed, we will always appreciate your great review here on TripAdvisor. Hearing we are your go-to place to stay in Roanoke means the world to us! I’m delighted we provided you with a friendly, relaxing place to stay at an affordable price. We love offering our guests a quaint, quiet lodge so you're right – no thrills here, just a warm and cozy home away from home. I look forward to sharing this with the team almost as much as I look forward to welcoming you back.

Until next time,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Colony House is just an average motel right off the Blue Ridge Parkway in Roanoke...The rooms are rather large and the mattresses are fine. I noticed that there was no shampoo in the bathroom. Had the maid forgotten to leave some? Your guess is as good as mine. The hotel is close and handy to many restaurants and shopping centers. There is an outdoor pool...which was closed for the season when I stayed there. Upon leaving the room in the morning, I spied a large cockroach scuttling away under the desk. Was this a 'loner'? Who knows?

Room Tip: As far as I know, all the rooms are pretty well similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for this review last winter. No matter how much time goes by, we always appreciate your feedback. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your large room and our centralized location. That said, I'm sorry to hear your shower was missing shampoo. Our seasoned team thoroughly cleans and stocks each room, but mistakes do happen, and we would have happily brought you a bottle had you notified one of our team members. When it comes to the "lone ranger" you spotted on your way out, during winter, insects are constantly seeking warmer environments and can sneak in through the smallest places. Our rooms are routinely inspected and treated by one of Roanoke's best professional exterminators who will respond promptly should some problem arise.

Hopefully you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Roanoke. We'd love for you to visit us in warmer weather to enjoy our pool. Blue Ridge Parkway is also a great place to visit during the sunny summer days.

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I love the Colony House, and stay there every time I go to Roanoke. Nothing fancy but the rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, staff is always nice and I can walk to several different restaurants. After a long day of travelling by motorcycle it's a great place to spend a quiet night, AND it's very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. I am a lady who travels solo, but have never felt anything but very safe and comfortable at the Colony House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm so happy to hear you love us! Thank you, Stephanie, for taking the time to share such a great review here on TripAdvisor. I understand how important safety is, especially when traveling alone, so it's great to hear we're a safe and cozy place to stay. Again, I'm thrilled you've always had a great stay with us and I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in the area.

Until then,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed there Saturday evening for $89.
Nice lady at the front desk.
Room was clean, bathroom was clean, bed was comfortable.
Pool was very nice after a long days motorcycle ride.
Parked right in front of the room.
$12.00 taxi ride got us to Downtown Roanoke where we had a great meal and some night life.
I will return to the Colony House Motor Lodge.

Room Tip: there are some rooms in the back of the building that would remove you from any noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for the great review here on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear you you found our beds comfortable and our pool a great place to relax after a long ride. Please keep us in mind next time you're in the are. We'd love to have you stay with us again!

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

ladies, don't go here alone. seriously. i had to go get my room key re-programmed - several times actually, major issues getting the keys to work. but one trip to get the key fixed and the creepy guy at the desk could tell me when my daughter had left and come back to the room throughout his shift. gross.

i think there are residential customers that stay at colony house and THEY are creepy also. and noisy. many nights they were out in the parking lot at like 2 a.m. yelling and making noise.

also, they charged BOTH the card that i used for the reservation AND the card i used to pay with. eventually got it straight, but who needs the hassle?

i didn't get the weekly rate b/c i did not ask specifically for it. give me a break!

the room was not awesome. broken faucets that leaked really bad.

nice little pool but creeper at the desk will watch you, ladies.

best thing about the place was proximity to waffle house and sonic.

Room Tip: if you do go here, stay at the end AWAY from the waffle house. the residential lodgers are near waf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
As the owner, I take your allegation about safety very seriously. I can assure you we complete full background checks on our staff and do everything possible to help our guests feel safe and at ease. That said, I'm surprised you found us creepy as we receive a lot of solo travelers and receive nothing but compliments, including praises to our safety. When it comes to noise at 2 am, our team is trained to handle noise complaints to create a quiet, peaceful place for sleep. Please don't hesitate to notify our team with any issues.

Overall, I apologize you had such a poor stay with us and hope you'll give us a second chance to impress. It's been a few years and we've only improved with time.

Warm regards,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Address: 3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colony House Motor Lodge is South Roanoke’s guest bedroom. A quaint step back in time with modern conveniences, Colony House Motor Lodge is situated in beautiful and fashionable South Roanoke. Located 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway near the junction of Route 220 and I-581 on Franklin Road, we are conveniently near and accessible to the many Roanoke Valley attractions and facilities. Family owned with family pride since 1957, our dedicated and friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you.Our goal is to provide a quality experience at an affordable price. Toward this goal our amenities include a free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, exercise room, guest laundry, business center and an outdoor pool in season. Additionally each room has a coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, two bathroom sinks in most and free HBO. For those needing more room or a kitchen, we have two spacious suites. Weekly stays are also available, making Colony House a great option for business travelers.Adjoining large and small conferences rooms suitable for meetings or exhibitions are available separately or together at a reasonable price. To assist with catering, a prep area is adjacent to the large conference room. Each conference room has its own private bathroom.Carilion Memorial, Carilion Community, and Lewis Gale hospitals are just minutes away, and we proudly provide a discount for inpatients' families. Other nearby destinations include Mill Mountain Zoo, Virginia Museum of Transportation, The Taubman Museum of Art, Roanoke Civic Center, Center in the Square, Roanoke Farmer’s Market and The Jefferson Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony House Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.