We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive lodging--great rates for weekly stays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony House Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Colony House Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Inexpensive lodging--great rates for weekly stays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one week during the recent power outage in Roanoke, since our home had no power or water. It is across the street from a Red Lobster, KMart, and Sonic. The location is convenient to the Tanglewood Mall, Franklin Road shops, and downtown (10 min drive). Our weekly rate equaled about $40/day. I thought this was a great bargain! The room had a nice refrigerator & microwave, plus a small table, which made meal preparation simple during the week. Front desk staff and housekeeping staff were both friendly and professional. We were able to use the cute pool area, fitness center, and laundry facilities. It was quiet, had very cool air conditioning, and met our needs perfectly for this one-week stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
10
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Aftrr one night in a 1950's motel in Luray,Va, a drive down the SkyLine Drive and part of the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Colony House Motor Lodge was a bright light at the end of a long tunnel.Check in was quick. Walking into my room, my first word was 'WOW'. Two queen beds, round table with 2 or 3 chairs. Night stand between the beds. A big screen tv sits in a wooden cabinet. Probably 50 channels, was too tired from driving to pay much asttention to tv. A writing desk/table was near the tv cabinet.

The bathroom was good size, with the shower/tub having much space. The sink area has large area for traveling items. Hairdryer and good motel shampoo. The bed was very comfortable with two pillows each. Lighting was excellent in all parts of the room.

The room was very clean. My room was non-smoking, with smoking rooms avialable. Each room is equiped with micowave, small frigerator and coffee maker. Also thetre is a coin laundry.

Colony House is at most 12-15 minutes west of the Blue Ridge. The motel is just north of I581 leading to I81.

Two restaurant are within 1/2 mile at most. A steak restaurant to the motels left and a Red Lobster across Franklin Road. The man at the front desk recommended the steak restaurant. I walked to Red Lobster. Try the salmon.

The one big drawback to Colony House is the breakfast. Only donuts and muffins, with coffee and orange/apple juice. I would stay again, but would look for a neasrby breakfast restaurant, if staying more than one night.

All doores open to the facility's parking lot. I had no problem with this arrangement, as I had to walk 20 feet to my vehicle. No walking and carrying my luggage down a long hallway to chrck out.

On a 18 day day trip, I stayed at six motels , putting Colony House at the top and highly recommending a stay.

Jack , Syracuse, New York

Room Tip: Ask if a breakfast restaurant is neasrby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple, did a five-day motorcycle trip through PA, MD, WV, TN, NC, and finally VA. Our fourth day of travel put is in Roanoke, VA for our last night. Having stayed at the Colony House the previous year on a similar trip, we did not hesitate to make our reservations here again. When we arrived late Sunday evening, the gentleman working the front desk saw our motorcycles, took note of the reservation slips that had be written up for us, and shook his head. He said, "They have you staying in a second floor room...that just won't do for you and your bikes. How about I put you in first floor king suites? They only catch is they are on the backside of the property...is that OK?" We agreed instantly! He did not charge us for the upgraded room and we wound up with king beds (when I called to make the original reservations, the only standard rooms left were two double). We REALLY appreciated his efforts and offer! The Colony House is a great little motel with clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a great location just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We took advantage of the proximity to the Red Lobster (just across the highway) and walked to our dinner that evening. Breakfast the next morning was modest, but it was enough to get us up and going on what would be our last day of our adventure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here one night - September 24, 2011. This is a older, small, family-owned motel. The check-in guy was the owner I'm pretty sure and he gave me the rate of $56 for a Saturday night. He was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very large and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The room was very clean and came with a microfridge and microwave and no complaints whatsoever. The motel was very quiet even though on a major road. There is a Waffle House next door and several other restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Very good Place to stay
close to shopping and eating places
Will Be Going Back

Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I do not understand the review of Feb. 2009. I too was hospitalized while staying at this hotel. I received excellent treatment and much concern for my health. They most certainly do honor their weekly rate of $196.00. As a matter of fact, I feel I was given such special treatment, I plan on visiting again real soon. It is very clean and quiet with extremely friendly staff to include the housekeepers.

This just goes to show that you cannot judge hotels by unfavorable reviews....you simply cannot please certain people when things don't go their way all the time!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Father having open heart surgery at Roanoke Memorial...Called to confirm reservations and was promised weekly rate of $196.00. Upon checking out was forced to pay full rate of $50 per night plus tax. Would not let us speak to management nor corporate office/owner. Called back and spoke with owner who was extremely rude and said that he refused to deal with us and hung up. Had human resources from the hospital call for us and she was treated rudely also. Other places are cleaner, have better service and the same rates! Still close to hospital. I would not recommend staying at the Colony House!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Address: 3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colony House Motor Lodge is South Roanoke’s guest bedroom. A quaint step back in time with modern conveniences, Colony House Motor Lodge is situated in beautiful and fashionable South Roanoke. Located 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway near the junction of Route 220 and I-581 on Franklin Road, we are conveniently near and accessible to the many Roanoke Valley attractions and facilities. Family owned with family pride since 1957, our dedicated and friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you.Our goal is to provide a quality experience at an affordable price. Toward this goal our amenities include a free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, exercise room, guest laundry, business center and an outdoor pool in season. Additionally each room has a coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, two bathroom sinks in most and free HBO. For those needing more room or a kitchen, we have two spacious suites. Weekly stays are also available, making Colony House a great option for business travelers.Adjoining large and small conferences rooms suitable for meetings or exhibitions are available separately or together at a reasonable price. To assist with catering, a prep area is adjacent to the large conference room. Each conference room has its own private bathroom.Carilion Memorial, Carilion Community, and Lewis Gale hospitals are just minutes away, and we proudly provide a discount for inpatients' families. Other nearby destinations include Mill Mountain Zoo, Virginia Museum of Transportation, The Taubman Museum of Art, Roanoke Civic Center, Center in the Square, Roanoke Farmer’s Market and The Jefferson Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony House Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.