We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost at home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MainStay Suites Airport to your Saves list
MainStay Suites Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Valley View Blvd., Roanoke, VA 24012   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost at home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

As a pilot I am spending every three night in a hotel room. My stay was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is very clean, very quiet and with a family atmosphere. The shuttle is reliable and the help and service you get from the front desk is amazing.
I almost felt at home...

Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmva342, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your positive stay. As a pilot I know you stay in hotels weekly. We often hear how our staff makes folks feel like they are in a family atmosphere, which is comforting when you are away from your home, friends and family. Glad you found our property clean and quiet, we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
24
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Drove down from Maryland to attend a concert in Roanoke. Used Trip Advisor to find a hotel near Berglund Center and also wanted to find a close place to the new Krispy Kreme store. We are regulars in the area as we have been attending VT football games for 15 years. Never stayed at MainStay Suites at the Airport, so we booked a room. As entered the hotel we were greeted by a very nice lady by the name of Bonnie. She was very helpful and a real asset to the hotel. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Husband had a headache and she was able to hook him up with some Advil. We only stayed one night and the accommodations were excellent, we wanted for nothing. The suite had everything you could want, full size refrigerator, dishes, eating utensils, pot & pans. The lobby even had a little convenience area where you could buy Marie Callendar items and cook yourself. A very nice hotel if you're going to be I the area for any length of time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmva342, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your great stay. Many folks are not aware of what a MainStay has to offer. Our rooms are about 50% larger than a standard hotel room and having a kitchen and living area for price of a standard hotel room makes us a great value. We are glad you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and hope you will come to see us for all of your VT games and other related travel to our area. Please tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

During an almost three week vacation we stayed at four different hotels, first in Georgia, then Florida, next in Tennessee and lastly in Roanoke, VA. We were pleasantly surprised at the kitchenette and all its supplies. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, which gave way to a great night's sleep. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We only stayed there one night but wished we were staying longer. This was the best hotel out of the four in which we stayed. We would definitely stay at MainStay again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your great feedback. Sounds as if you are having a nice vacation, it’s good to know that we was the "best of four" hotels you stayed in. Many folks are not aware that MainStay Suites is a full suites hotel with great kitchen you mentioned. You also do not have to stay for an extended period to enjoy a room that is about 50% larger than a standard hotel room. Thanks also for speaking highly of our staff; they take great pride in taking care of our guests and property. We hope you will tell all of your family and friends about us and return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Roaches are in the cabinets and spiders are under the sink. The coffee maker was very dirty and didnt look like it had been cleaned in a while. The kitchenette only had a 4 cup pot, which is totally ridiculous for a long term stay. There were roach droppings behind the refrigerator on the floor.

Internet didn't work most of the time. It was intermittent at best. Management was complacent and even slightly amused at my complaints and did not even offer to fix the internet server. They said it wasn't their fault.

TV stations selections were poor. They had a lot of news and commercial channels and 1 movie channel. The picture wasn't clear and the remote needed batteries.

Breakfast was the usual poor selection of carbs and sugar.

And unsavory types were seen in the parking lot at night. I had concealed carry, so I was safe.

I wasn't impressed with any of the staff. None were friendly at all. The manager was particularly insulting.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmva342, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that we did have an issue with our internet on your stay. This took a couple days to resolve but I am happy to report all is well with speed and connection now. Should you stay again, we encourage you to please let us know right away when you find any bugs or dirty issues and we will address it right away. Many folks love our breakfast which offers something for everyone. On the healthy side we have fresh oatmeal with 4 toppings, 2 kinds of yogurt and whole fruit. For those wanting some carbs, we have eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes, waffle station and sausage gravy. Of course we have several types of milk, juice and coffee, ALL included in our rate. Most folks rave about our staff, I know you was upset about our internet and we understand the need to be connected and productive. Our staff member did all she could do but we had to have the help of our internet vendor so solve the issue. Thanks aging for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINGGOLD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed at this hotel on very short notice, had to get out of North Georgia ahead of Winter Storm for trip to Annapolis, and very very pleasantly surprised. Staff was incredibly friendly. Rooms was huge and very clean. We had four people in the group but unusual combinations- Myself, wife and 16 year old daughter, along with my father in law- Had 2 beds and a pullout sofa. There was a also a large kitchen area. Bathroom had separate shower, toilet area from sink.
Several restaurants (I would recommend Shakers) and shopping very close by.
Will definitely consider this chain again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great comments. Over and over we hear about our "incredibly friendly staff". We like to treat our guest like family. As you mentioned, our guest rooms are "Hugh" compared to a standard hotel room. Every room has a full kitchen and living area. Many guest comment on the size of counter space and great lighting in the bathrooms. Our staff takes pride in making sure our rooms and property are kept clean. Our location at Valley View Mall offers many options for shopping and dining right outside our door. We look forward to your next stay with us. Please tell all of your family and friends about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed 5 nights and overall were very pleased with the hotel staff and the room. Unfortunately on the 3rd night we experienced a problem with a loud, persistent and disturbing noise coming from the adjoining mechanical room. This resulted in a late night temporary move to another room and loss of sleep.
The next day we were told there was no mechanical problem identified and therefore no expectation that the noise would improve. However, the front desk staff worked dilligently to relocate us to another suitable room. When locating a comparable room became challenging the general manager "stepped in" and behaved in a rude and disrespectful manner to me any my companion. This occured in front of the staff and other guests in the lobby. Given we are middle-aged, quiet, (albiet female) professionals and were polite and appreciative with the staff as they were attempting to resolve the problem, the rude behavior was unexpected, insulting and unecessary.
The noise issue was ultimately addressed (reportedly) by shutting off the heat/air system. This did not impact the rooms which had individual climate control and minimally impacted hallways due to moderate weather. We remained in our room and the quality of our stay and sleep improved. However the "resolution" suggests that the system may need maintance and/or repair.
In the end I give the front desk staff on all shifts,the cleaning and maintenance staff the highest compliments for their attention to the customer. The rooms are lovely and perfect for a longer stay.
Unfortunately the manner in which we were addressed by the general manager and the lack of response to my request for consideration for the lost night's sleep when paying for the room have negatively colored by review and recomendation of this motel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for bringing issue regarding heat/cooling system to our attention. We thank you for sharing positive comments about our staff and facility. We are sorry that your issue was not handled to your satisfaction by management. Should your travels bring you this way again, please feel free to contact us and we will personally make sure your next visit is a positive stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

You couldn't ask for better customer service! Always friendly and the suites are always clean and ready. I travel for work and am pretty selective in where I stay. When in Roanoke it's always the Mainstay.

C. Grand

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and for always choosing the MainStay Suites when in town for business. Many business folks to not think of the MainStay for a stay other than long term stay. Even for short stays our rooms that are about 50% larger than a standard room gives you extra room to spread out and be productive. The full kitchens are an added bonus. Thanks for saying the great things about our fantastic staff and how clean our property and rooms is.

Please tell all of your family and friends about us, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd., Roanoke, VA 24012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#11 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, interior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.