We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MainStay_fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
MainStay Suites Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Valley View Blvd., 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Richford, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MainStay_fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

MainStay Suites, Roanoke, Virginia is by far the best hotel chain where we have ever stayed, PERIOD. These rooms could have commanded at least $125 to $150 per night, with no qualms from us. On top of that, the front desk people were cheery, helpful, and just down right polite. We are now in the process of finding where all these Suites are, and will definitely seek them out whenever possible.

Art and Sue Robertson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Art,
Thanks so much for your kind words of our hotel. MainStay Suites does offer large rooms with full kitchens and plenty of room to relax at an affordable price. Our staff makes everyone feel right at home as we are one big happy family!
We hope you will visit us again soon. Don't worry, we won't increase your rate!!!
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
15
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Suites had full kitchen and accessories. nice living area and separate bed and bath areas. Staff very helpful and friendly. Treated you like family. Excellent choices for both hot and cold breakfast. easy parking. Right off main road easy access but quiet at night.

Room Tip: Upper floor has best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Fred1948,
Thanks for staying with us for for sharing your comments.
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Roanoke Valley and your stay with us was comfortable. We have large rooms with full kitchens and lots of extra room to relax. We do have a great location just off the main road and located within the Valley View Mall shopping complex.
I hope you will visit us again soon should you return to our part of the world.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We needed a two-bedroom suite and chose MainStay based on positive TripAdvisor comments. This place really lived up to the good reviews. TVs in each room plus the living area, each room had a bath, everything was spotless. And a most congenial gal on the desk when we checked in. Breakfast was ample and good, too.
We'd like to spend some more time in Roanoke and when we do, I know where we'll be staying. It's near a big mall so there's no lack of shopping or eating opportunities.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the opposite side of the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words concerning your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your large rooms and we look forward to having your return visit.
We are located in the Valley View Mall complex, southwest Virginia's largest shopping center. There are ample restaurants, movie theaters and shopping venues to keep you busy. The valley also offers many leisure activities and outdoor adventures to explore.
Thanks again for your comments. I will pass them on to the staff.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff were absolutely wonderful. Everyone was friendly, helpful and informative. The location was good and we had no problems getting around the city. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfortable. We would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. It is nice to know your stay was enjoyable. We strive hard each day to make sure our guests feel welcome and at home. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, I would only stay here when traveling to Roanoke if I had my choice. I am always greeted warmly. The rooms are very clean (though I once had a bad experience here that was corrected immediately and I was not charged for my room).

There are new HD televisions in the suites since my last visit. As I had a wee bit of trouble, I called the front desk. Advice was given and staff volunteered to come up right away.

Really, I enjoy this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of the MainStay Suites Airport. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you when in the Roanoke area.
I am pleased you have enjoyed your multiple visits with us. Sometimes a problem does arise, and I am glad the staff has been able to handle your concerns with efficiency.
We look forward to you visiting us in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good morning, I would like to comment on my recent stays at this hotel. My business has me traveling to the Ronoake area, I have stayed at the location 4 or five times. Each time, I have had the pleasure to check in when Curtis is working the front desk. Since my first stay, Curtis has been exceptional. She makes the checking in process so delightful, it's like arriving at a home away from home. It takes alot to impress me when it comes to hotel stays and the like, but I will only stay at the Main Stay Suites when I'm in Roanoke. I am a long time Hilton Honors member. Thank you for having a team member who understands what good customer relations is all about.




Al Barner


albarner4309@aol.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Mr. Barner,
Thanks so much for your comments and kind words about the hotel and in particular, Mrs. Curtis. She is an amazing lady and treats all of our guests as though they were coming into her home.
I will pass along your kind words and give Mrs. Curtis a pat on the back.
Thank you for being a repeat guest with us and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've stayed here before- the rooms are clean- though some corners in the bath room area could use a scrubbing!. The staff is very helpful, polite and considerate. This location is very convenient to downtown Roanoke. We noticed this visit that the milk in the fridge that is in the free breakfast area was out dated. When we asked for a container with a fresh date, the person working that day- while she was going to get a fresh milk, said she was trying to get rid of the out dated ones. " You can drink the milk up to three days after the date" she says. Well, that may be, says I, but the stamp clearly says use by.... Just makes me wonder what other short cuts in the food area the staff is taking.

Room Tip: rooms on the Hershberger side will have some traffic noise till midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you have returned to stay with us again and I certainly value your comments. I have already spoken with the General Manager concerning the expired milk containers and I can assure you this will not happen again, nor will any cutting corners with food preparation, storage, or usage be tolerated. We value the safety of our guests and will take every step necessary to assure it.
Thanks again for your comments and We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke
Roanoke Mainstay
Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd., 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#12 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.