We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value for Budget Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MainStay Suites Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Valley View Blvd., 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Value for Budget Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Overall - A very good, friendly hotel experience for budget suites. You will probably enjoy your stay if you understand what amenities to expect for what you pay.

Location - In the Valley View Mall Loop, which is convenient for dining out. Very close to the airport, but plane noise not a problem in our room. A little distance from downtown Roanoke (5-10 min) if that is your focus. Do NOT follow Mapquest instructions. It is easy to get to but you need to take the correct "mini-exit" after you get off the interstate. If you are told to make a U-turn, call for directions.

Room - You get a lot of space for the price. We had a 2 room suite with a king size bed. Room was well cleaned. Kitchen has a full size refrigerator, sink, cabinets, etc. Few dishes but enough to get by. Couch had seen better days and sank in a little. Bed wasn't top notch but it wasn't bad either - could sleep on it in decent comfort. Pillows were nice. Separate room for bath/shower and toilet with bathroom sink outside, which I like. Water pressure was good. There was a nice long closet. Also had two good sized TVs. I think thermostat temperatures were a little off but the system kept the room warm easily.

Service/Food - This is a budget suite, so room cleaning had to be requested and you had to get your own towels if you wanted a change after you got there. Front desk staff worked with us very well to resolve a minor issue (was accidentally booked in a 1 room suite instead of 2 - an issue with a baby) and extend our stay when we were snowed in. All in all I appreciated the friendliness and attention to detail - even the "behind the scenes" staff was friendly. Breakfast was a limited hot breakfast, with eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits you had to zap, waffle maker, wrapped pastries, juices, cereal - food was well done but limited variety.

Value - Hard to beat the price we paid for what we got.

Room Tip: Specify whether you want 1 room or two room suite. We were on bottom floor and noise was pretty lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
16
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for a night while visiting relatives. We got a good, fair price and a spacious room (sitting area and kitchen separate from bedroom with bath). The room was clean, but showing a little wear and tear. Kitchen space was above average except there were very few dishes (I mean ONE cup, two bowls, etc.). We had two double beds that were extremely uncomfortable as was the pull-out couch. I made it up for my 10 year old, and he decided within 3 minutes he'd rather share a bed with his baby sister. There is a room safe and a separate bath area from the vanity. The bathroom seemed very clean, which is a big plus. The walls were very very thin, and we heard several conversations and dogs barking throughout the night and into the early morning. Someone took their dogs out every two hours and let them bark all the way down the hall and back. The best part of the whole experience was the front desk clerk, Curtis. She was very outgoing and friendly...smart too! She went above and beyond by calling me to let me know I had left our car lights on. Overall, it was just okay. We'd stay here in a pinch, but I like another Roanoke hotel better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This was a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and the hotel staff was delightful, especially Curtis ans Ralph.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honaker
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Very nice rooms. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The price was great. Staff was wonderful. Curtis at the front desk was a treasure. All places of business would benefit greatly with more employees like her. Had a wonderful time and will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

It was just OK. Basic stay in a suite setting. Rooms were spacious, fixtures were in pretty good condition but starting to show wear. Good line-up for the TV. Clean but not spotless. Good location to mall and restaurants but a little tricky to find. Staff is not overly friendly but professional. They have a pantry but it does not have much of a selection. Breakfast as on-par with most other hotels. All in all, just an OK stay. Nothing that's makes me not want to check out other hotels the next time around. Asked for non-smoking. Was first given a room on the first floor that wreaked of smoke. I was told its a smoking floor but I was given one of the two rooms that were no smoking. That makes no sense. Then the desk clerk was going to give me a room on the second floor. Guess she did not understand that smoke rises. Third floor worked ok. Take the stairs tho...faster than the elevator.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Wow! As a frequent business traveler, this place far exceeded my expectations. The energy effficient suite was extremely spacious with all the amenities including very comfortable beds, multiple flat screen tv's, a full service kitchen and updated bathrooms. This would be considered a Penthouse suite in larger hotels. We were conveniently located less than 5 minutes from Downtown Roanoke and within walking distance to a very large mall with all the major retail stores and restaurants and our rooms had a beautiful night view of the Roanoke Airport. As other reviewers have commented Mrs. Curtis Saunders goes out of her way to make you feel important. If you are visiting Roanoke, this is the Place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Nice clean rooms. Friendly staff. Check in was painfully slow even as a rewards member. Had to repeat things several times. Very frustrating after a long day of flying. A bit noisy on the south side. Internet very spotty. Probably will try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd., 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.