We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, new, clean, close to a lot of things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites Airport to your Saves list
MainStay Suites Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Valley View Blvd., 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place, new, clean, close to a lot of things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for a funeral (2 days) and it was very nice. A little tricky with the GPS but, easy once you see it. Nice place located with in a mall type area. Plenty of shopping choices and eateries. Definitely would stay again clean and nice. Big rooms with kitchenettes and separate "living" room. 2 nice tv's a small putting green outside if interested. Nice breakfast bar as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
21
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have stayed there several times & my daughter I I love it. Jennifer & Curtis at the front desk could not be more helpful about anything you request. Upgraded this past weekend to a two bedroom, 2 bath suite. I do not like hotels but this is a favorite.

Room Tip: They only have 4 2 bedroom suites, 1 is smoking.. This room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Curtis was very polite, knows her job, does it well and quick. We were impressed with the size of the room, clean and quite at night. I thought I would hear a plane flying over--never did. Curtis spoke to us as we left for dinner and upon our return. She enjoys her job and she does it well ! Give her a raise!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Mainstay Suites Airport in Roanoke, VA.
I am pleased Curtis took such good care of your needs. She has been a member of our family for many years and we cherish her dedication to guest satisfaction.
I hope when you return to the Roanoke area, you will again allow us to serve you.
SIncerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Curtis and this hotel was the best employee that I have ever meet. She made sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable, and not just on a professional level. I stayed here several months ago by myself just to get away and she took care of me and she was here when I came back with my family. I was so impressed with her that I even gave her a plant just to show how much it meant to me that she went over and above her job. Wonderful employee!!!

Room Tip: wonderful place to stay. close to everything. friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments of the Mainstay Suites Airport in Roanoke, VA.
Curtis has been a part of our family for many years and takes care of each guest as though they were a guest of her own home.
Please visit us again should you return to the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here while taking our son to Virginia Tech since all the nearby hotels near Tech were booked. We also needed a pet-friendly place. This was a great place to stay. Everything was very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is close to the airport and every store I could possibly think of, yet was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit at the Mainstay Suites Airport in Roanoke, VA.
The hotel is conveniently located in the Valley View Mall shopping complex and is just a short drive to I-81 allowing a short commute to Virginia Tech. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and trust you will visit us again when in the Roanoke Valley.
SIncerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Mom and Dad snore so teenage daughter loves having her own room separated by living area and doors. The suites are very nice. Having a continental breakfast included is also nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to the Mainstay Suites Airport in Roanoke, VA.
I am pleased our two room suite gave you the privacy you needed. We have some rooms that offer two separate bedrooms with a shared living room area. Perfect for large families or two families traveling together.
I hope you will visit us again should you return to the area.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was lucky to get in. This hotel is pet friendly and Hurricane Irene was bringing in evacuees. My pup and I got a fabulous room and terrific service !! I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Chris at the main desk for making my stay (if only for one night) comfortable, affordable and so very pleasant. I was so tired from my trip - started in TX. My room was immaculate and smelled lovely. This is a night's stay you wouldn't want to miss; can you imagine if I 'd stayed longer - - would have been great !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I am pleased we were able to take care of you and your pet during Hurricane Irene. It is unfortunate that your visit had to be due to evacuation procedures. Perhaps you could visit under better circumstances and we could supply you with a map of many points of interest in the area. There are many museums of varied interests, arts and craft shows, largest shopping complex in Southwest Virginia and scenic drives you could explore. Come visit, we would love to show you the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd., 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.