We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great talent for a small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Mountain Theatre

Mill Mountain Theatre
1 Market Square SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
540-324-5740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 40 years of Broadway quality theatre right here in Roanoke - the Valley's only Professional Live Theatre! Year-round season with two stages in Center in the Square. Family Entertainment on the Trinkle Main Stage (seats 400), Cutting-Edge Theatre on the Waldron Stage (seats 100.)
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great talent for a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I watched The Sound of Music at Mill Mountain Theatre and was thoroughly impressed. The performance was great, the theater is comfortable and it was a wonderful evening.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific theater for a terrific price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nothing like getting "Broadway for a bargain"!! Each time I have attended a performance I am always so impressed with the quality of the production. There truly isn't a bad seat in the house... and tickets are more than reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

went for a musical and our seat were midway up. The way they did the seating it seems to give everyone a good view. Audio was great. The only drawback was that the air conditioning was blowing down on you. They are working on solving the problem but just in case take a jacket.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were lucky and has some time after dinner to go to the show Swing. This is professional musical theatre at it's best. Song and dance without skipping any beats...(humor?). Wonderful voices, excellent choreography, great dancers. I even liked the simple subtle stylish costumes. What can I say the troupe knocked my socks off--better that NYC is so many ways: intimate, reasonable,...local.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of receiving tickets to see The Sound of Music at Mill Mountain Theatre. The 'revamped' theatre delivered a superb show at a great price! The production, music, acting, and singing quality were of an extremely high caliber. The play had me laughing and weeping with the characters and the shows development. This theatre is certainly a hidden gem of Roanoke and I HIGHLY recommend setting your visit to Roanoke around one of this theatre's performances!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Mountain Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Mountain Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.