We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Read Mountain Preserve

Read Mountain Preserve
Roanoke, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 29 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not much parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Only space for 5 or 6 cars (depending on how spaced). Fine print sign says park in designated spots only. I followed the rules so I couldn't stay. Impossible to find with my GPS, I got lucky.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great way to begin the hiking season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hiked all 3 trails this afternoon about 5 miles in a little less than 3 hours. The trail to Buzzard Rock is the most popular and the view from the top overlooking the valley was well worth the hike. The CCC trail runs along the crest of the mountain with view in both directions. When the leaves are on the trees there will be little or no views but still a nice walk in the woods on the CCC trail. The Rocky Way trail got its name from the many rocks & boulders and cuts across the mountain bringing you back to the beginning of Buzzard Rock trail and to the parking lot. Ample parking, picnic tables, and even a porta potty. If you are looking for something close and good views check it out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hike close to home.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hike is less about the views and more about the trail. It's an easy hike for an avid hiker, but would be a great workout for a novice. The views aren't that great, but the close proximity to Roanoke make it worth while. The trail is located in Samules Gate neighborhood in the Orchards. It is pretty well maintained and is made of up varied terrain from paths to steps to mountain ridge tops. It's an easy trail to bring your dog on as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good, varied terrain hike hidden behind a suburb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Read Mountain Preserve is a little-known hike basically behind a very new subdivision off 460/Challenger Ave on the outskirts of Roanoke. It is expanded & maintained regularly by the dedicated Read Mountain Alliance. Currently, the preserve offers several hiking options, including short & moderate length trails for different endurance levels. NOTE: There is a stream at the lower elevations, but no water as you ascend, so bring a full bottle for you (& your dog). MY favorite track (Buzzard's Rock Trail) now eventually loops over the crests of the local mountains for a few miles until decending quickly back to the parking lot. The views are good, except for the developed areas, but you get good elevation and beautiful ridgetop hiking for a decent stretch. The real draw for me is the preserve's relative obscurity, I have never passed more than two clusters of hikers per hour and many times it seemed it was just me & my dog on the trail. Love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Views aren't that great but it's still a nice hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'm an avid hiker but I have to say that this hike is just okay. It's not the greatest but it's still pretty awesome that you don't have to leave Roanoke to do it. The views aren't that great, depending on foliage.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Read Mountain Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Read Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Read Mountain Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.