We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hike close to home.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Read Mountain Preserve

Read Mountain Preserve
Roanoke, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 64 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hike close to home.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hike is less about the views and more about the trail. It's an easy hike for an avid hiker, but would be a great workout for a novice. The views aren't that great, but the close proximity to Roanoke make it worth while. The trail is located in Samules Gate neighborhood in the Orchards. It is pretty well maintained and is made of up varied terrain from paths to steps to mountain ridge tops. It's an easy trail to bring your dog on as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good, varied terrain hike hidden behind a suburb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Read Mountain Preserve is a little-known hike basically behind a very new subdivision off 460/Challenger Ave on the outskirts of Roanoke. It is expanded & maintained regularly by the dedicated Read Mountain Alliance. Currently, the preserve offers several hiking options, including short & moderate length trails for different endurance levels. NOTE: There is a stream at the lower elevations, but no water as you ascend, so bring a full bottle for you (& your dog). MY favorite track (Buzzard's Rock Trail) now eventually loops over the crests of the local mountains for a few miles until decending quickly back to the parking lot. The views are good, except for the developed areas, but you get good elevation and beautiful ridgetop hiking for a decent stretch. The real draw for me is the preserve's relative obscurity, I have never passed more than two clusters of hikers per hour and many times it seemed it was just me & my dog on the trail. Love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Views aren't that great but it's still a nice hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'm an avid hiker but I have to say that this hike is just okay. It's not the greatest but it's still pretty awesome that you don't have to leave Roanoke to do it. The views aren't that great, depending on foliage.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant hike at the edge of Roanoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Read Mountain is a beautiful forested area right at the edge of a suburban Roanoke suburban development. The only trail currently shown on the maps is the 1.9 mile (one-way) hike which climbs about 1000 feet to Buzzards Rock. It climbs through the forest past 2 steep ravines and some limited views of Roanoke before reaching the rock outcroppings which give you a very nice view to the west of Roanoke. It's excellently marked and you can't get lost. There are signs for two other trails which are not yet shown on the maps.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Read Mountain Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Read Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Read Mountain Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.