We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“School Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We often stay at this location because it is near our son's school. Usually it is a nice stay with very few complaints. This last time was the exception. The thermostat didn't seem to work and the room kept getting more and more uncomfortable. The bed felt as though it was broken and sagged towards the middle (king bed). The worst part was all of the ultra-firm pillows. I actually woke up with a very stiff neck and my chin almost touching my chest. I was very disappointed by this stay as every other time has been pretty good. I hope it gets better, or we may have to find another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROACourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Chris N,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Roanoke to visit your son at college. We appreciate that we are your preferred hotel when visiting the area.

I am certainly sorry to hear about your air conditioning unit not cooling properly and the comfort of your bed and pillows. If you would be so kind as to contact me, I will be more than happy to address these concerns with you as this is not a typical experience that guests have at our hotel.

We have just recently upgraded all of our guestroom pillows. We would be more than happy to provide you with a different type of pillow if you find the current pillows are too firm. Please also feel free to contact us at anytime if anything in your guestroom is not functioning properly. Unfortunately things do happen once in awhile but we keep staff here at all times that are capable of fixing any issue that may arise during your stay.

We certainly hope to see you again in the future. I am confident this was an isolated incident and we look forward to serving you again when you return to the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,

Adam Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    83
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
46
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good place to stay with a clean, comfortable and modern room. The staff were very welcoming and helpful with information about local restaurants. This Courtyard is of the new design which we like very much. A nice open feel to the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Roanoke a few times for business and have always been impressed with the facility. It is about 1 mile from the airport, so it's in a great location. It's incredibly easy to get to this location.

The hotel is clean and feels new. The facility is in really good shape, which adds greatly to the comfortable feeling you get staying here. The room was clean from top to bottom. The bed was comfy.

Like most Courtyards, they have a small restaurant on the premises. It offers decent food, but nothing special. I ordered a bottle of water, which I never received. That was a little frustrating.

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. The service was quite good.

I've stayed here a few times and have always been impressed with my stay. I will continue to frequent this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There are not a lot of great places to choose from in Roanoke. This is one of the best, it is clean and near the mall for shopping and dining. The breakfast is available but not included. The hotel is close to the airport as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROACourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dayee87,

Thank you so much for staying with us and considering us one of the best places to stay in Roanoke! We couldn't agree more with you!

We strive to provide a high level of service to our guests as well as keeping our hotel clean and comfortable.

We look forward to serving you again on your next return trip to the Roanoke Valley! Thank you again for your kind words and for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Adam Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently spent just one night here on our way home from vacay and for 93 dollars it was a terrific stop...we got a king room with balcony and the room was spotless and I am extremely picky. The staff was friendly and we wish we could always find rooms this clean on the rest of our vacations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROACourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear kloMassachusetts,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your way home from vacation.

I am so glad to hear you found our hotel to be spotless! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel guestrooms and public space. I have shared your compliments with my housekeeping department and we hope to serve you again in the near future!

Thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Roanoke Valley!

Sincerely,
Adam Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Ideal hotel at halfway point for our regular trips from Maryland to Kentucky. Have been staying here past two years when we make this trip and satisfied every time. Easy access from I-81, quick check in and friendly staff, room always clean and comfortable. Sadly they have stopped the complimentary early morning coffee in the lobby - options are fixing coffee in - room which is always lousy no matter what hotel or wait until the lobby food service opens, which is not early enough as we get on the road by 6AM - surely they could work a deal with Starbucks (which has the food service contract) and reinstate the complimentary - and if not, open the food service at 5AM! But coffee or not, we'll continue to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stayed here many times and have always had an excellent experience. In the past few months, my recent stays here have been even better. The rooms seem fresher, the staff even friendlier than before. Meanwhile, at The Hotel Roanoke, which had been my #1 pick, things seem to have gone in a different direction. So, my new #1 pick for Roanoke is The Courtyard Marriott.

High floor is best and the cost to upgrade to a 2-room suite is small and worth the extra charge. Excellent breakfast selections.

Room Tip: High floor, 2-room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
4.0 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Address: 3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Courtyard
Roanoke Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.