We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Cambridge
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overnight here for road trip traveling south on I-81. Front desk exceptionally helpful as 581 was closed by an accident and they directed us around it so we got to the hotel with no trouble. Room was great - very quiet, bed comfortable, and balcony view west to watch sunset over the mountains. Excellent service at food/coffee bar in lobby for both evening snack and breakfast. Easy walk to Zaxby's for a good chicken dinner. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
33
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Overall, the hotel was pretty nice. Our first room has a really loud ac unit and smelled a little like feet. We called the desk and they quickly and nicely switched us rooms without a problem. Our next room worked great and was very clean. Had everything you want from a Marriott except breakfast. There is a bistro in the lobby where you can buy an expensive breakfast but really? No bananas, apples, or bagels? In their defense, we did book the room knowing full well there was no breakfast. Cleanliness of the room always trumps all other factors for us. In that respect, this hotel worked great. Just kinda miffed about lack of breakfast. Otherwise, this hotel quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Courtyard is off of I-581 which intersects with the main interstate I-81. It is a 3 minute drive from here to the Roanoke airport and the hotel has a shuttle service to get there.

Nice exterior as you pull up, well-maintained. The friendly desk person gave us helpful information on nearby restaurants. It looks like the hotel had only been open a year or so. Everything in our room looked very new and was in perfect working order.

There are 3 restauarnts for dinner within walking distance They are 1) the Courtyard Bistro in the hotel which is open until 10 PM, 2) there is a Shula's 347 steakhouse at the nearby Sheraton, and 3) a Zaxby's which is a chain chicken place. To get to the Shula's you use a dirt path which cuts between the trees separating the Courtyard and the Sheraton. There are also lots of restaurants 5 minutes away by car at a nearby mall.

For breakfast we ate at the Courtyard Bisto. The food is good but expensive. So my husband and I split a breakfast sandwich, some oatmeal and fruit to keep costs down. There is free typical American coffee behind the giant screen by the front desk. Or you can pay for Starbucks coffee at the Bistro. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel honored our requests made at the time of reservation. After a very long day of driving, the hotel was a welcome relief. Everything worked, the bed was comfortable and we were able to rest well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here doing some work on upgrading the WiFi and it has very clean rooms and the front desk people are the best by far and if you get a room looking at the mountains its the best part of the morning

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The room seemed clean & the lobby has been remodeled to the new design with a bar/Starbucks. The room had a balcony so it was nice to let some fresh air in the room. The sink area was outside the shower/toilet area. It had a very small counter (may have just been my room) & carpeted which I don't understand. I didn't notice a lot of great dinner options nearby. Front desk was friendly & quick at check in, but not visible when I left. There were plenty of outlets including one by the bed which I always appreciate. However the one by the bed was so loose I had to carefully arrange the cord so my phone would charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We got this room through Priceline bid, and were very pleased. The room was very nice -- we got a king-sized bed and sleeper sofa, but they have 2 queens and sleeper sofa as well. Pillowtop mattress, flat-screen tv, wifi, beautiful bathroom and accommodations. My only comment is that they provide a bottle of water that will add $2.50 to your bill if you open it (my son didn't know that:). Front desk staff very accomodating and friendly. They had an indoor pool that we were not aware of, but it looked nice. I would definitely stay here again. *Very convenient to I-81 if you are traveling.*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Address: 3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Marriott
Roanoke Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.