We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience, calm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience, calm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Courtyard is off of I-581 which intersects with the main interstate I-81. It is a 3 minute drive from here to the Roanoke airport and the hotel has a shuttle service to get there.

Nice exterior as you pull up, well-maintained. The friendly desk person gave us helpful information on nearby restaurants. It looks like the hotel had only been open a year or so. Everything in our room looked very new and was in perfect working order.

There are 3 restauarnts for dinner within walking distance They are 1) the Courtyard Bistro in the hotel which is open until 10 PM, 2) there is a Shula's 347 steakhouse at the nearby Sheraton, and 3) a Zaxby's which is a chain chicken place. To get to the Shula's you use a dirt path which cuts between the trees separating the Courtyard and the Sheraton. There are also lots of restaurants 5 minutes away by car at a nearby mall.

For breakfast we ate at the Courtyard Bisto. The food is good but expensive. So my husband and I split a breakfast sandwich, some oatmeal and fruit to keep costs down. There is free typical American coffee behind the giant screen by the front desk. Or you can pay for Starbucks coffee at the Bistro. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
30
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel honored our requests made at the time of reservation. After a very long day of driving, the hotel was a welcome relief. Everything worked, the bed was comfortable and we were able to rest well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here doing some work on upgrading the WiFi and it has very clean rooms and the front desk people are the best by far and if you get a room looking at the mountains its the best part of the morning

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The room seemed clean & the lobby has been remodeled to the new design with a bar/Starbucks. The room had a balcony so it was nice to let some fresh air in the room. The sink area was outside the shower/toilet area. It had a very small counter (may have just been my room) & carpeted which I don't understand. I didn't notice a lot of great dinner options nearby. Front desk was friendly & quick at check in, but not visible when I left. There were plenty of outlets including one by the bed which I always appreciate. However the one by the bed was so loose I had to carefully arrange the cord so my phone would charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We got this room through Priceline bid, and were very pleased. The room was very nice -- we got a king-sized bed and sleeper sofa, but they have 2 queens and sleeper sofa as well. Pillowtop mattress, flat-screen tv, wifi, beautiful bathroom and accommodations. My only comment is that they provide a bottle of water that will add $2.50 to your bill if you open it (my son didn't know that:). Front desk staff very accomodating and friendly. They had an indoor pool that we were not aware of, but it looked nice. I would definitely stay here again. *Very convenient to I-81 if you are traveling.*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this motel due to the overall experience of other people who reviewed this place. My family and I were traveling to Virginia Tech, which was about 45 minutes away. The check-in was quick and friendly, as was the check-out. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The only drawback was paying $38 for breakfast that would have cost us $20 at any other chain restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel is far enough from the interstate to escape road noise. We had a comfortable room and good bed. Staff was cordial and accommodating. Good internet service. Instead of the usual Courtyard breakfast buffet they have a cafe with limited breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Address: 3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Marriott
Roanoke Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.