We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience, calm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience, calm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Courtyard is off of I-581 which intersects with the main interstate I-81. It is a 3 minute drive from here to the Roanoke airport and the hotel has a shuttle service to get there.

Nice exterior as you pull up, well-maintained. The friendly desk person gave us helpful information on nearby restaurants. It looks like the hotel had only been open a year or so. Everything in our room looked very new and was in perfect working order.

There are 3 restauarnts for dinner within walking distance They are 1) the Courtyard Bistro in the hotel which is open until 10 PM, 2) there is a Shula's 347 steakhouse at the nearby Sheraton, and 3) a Zaxby's which is a chain chicken place. To get to the Shula's you use a dirt path which cuts between the trees separating the Courtyard and the Sheraton. There are also lots of restaurants 5 minutes away by car at a nearby mall.

For breakfast we ate at the Courtyard Bisto. The food is good but expensive. So my husband and I split a breakfast sandwich, some oatmeal and fruit to keep costs down. There is free typical American coffee behind the giant screen by the front desk. Or you can pay for Starbucks coffee at the Bistro. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    75
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
41
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel honored our requests made at the time of reservation. After a very long day of driving, the hotel was a welcome relief. Everything worked, the bed was comfortable and we were able to rest well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here doing some work on upgrading the WiFi and it has very clean rooms and the front desk people are the best by far and if you get a room looking at the mountains its the best part of the morning

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The room seemed clean & the lobby has been remodeled to the new design with a bar/Starbucks. The room had a balcony so it was nice to let some fresh air in the room. The sink area was outside the shower/toilet area. It had a very small counter (may have just been my room) & carpeted which I don't understand. I didn't notice a lot of great dinner options nearby. Front desk was friendly & quick at check in, but not visible when I left. There were plenty of outlets including one by the bed which I always appreciate. However the one by the bed was so loose I had to carefully arrange the cord so my phone would charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We got this room through Priceline bid, and were very pleased. The room was very nice -- we got a king-sized bed and sleeper sofa, but they have 2 queens and sleeper sofa as well. Pillowtop mattress, flat-screen tv, wifi, beautiful bathroom and accommodations. My only comment is that they provide a bottle of water that will add $2.50 to your bill if you open it (my son didn't know that:). Front desk staff very accomodating and friendly. They had an indoor pool that we were not aware of, but it looked nice. I would definitely stay here again. *Very convenient to I-81 if you are traveling.*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this motel due to the overall experience of other people who reviewed this place. My family and I were traveling to Virginia Tech, which was about 45 minutes away. The check-in was quick and friendly, as was the check-out. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The only drawback was paying $38 for breakfast that would have cost us $20 at any other chain restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel is far enough from the interstate to escape road noise. We had a comfortable room and good bed. Staff was cordial and accommodating. Good internet service. Instead of the usual Courtyard breakfast buffet they have a cafe with limited breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Address: 3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Marriott
Roanoke Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.