We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a youth volleyball tournament. The front desk was friendly and helpful when we needed directions. The room was clean. The mattress was very comfortable. We didn't spend much time there except to sleep and didn't utilize any of the amenities. The grounds were well maintained and the location was central to both the Roanoke Civic Center and Salem Civic Center as well as other venues to which we needed to travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
30
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all I was booked the wrong room and when got there the young lady at the disk just said you booked with some else I can help you then the heat was not working in the room then when i call the disk they did not send anyone up to fix it. then on top of all of that only 10 channels on the TV had sound. On top of that the staff acted like they did not care at all about me or my business or if I would every stay at any of there hotels agains, I am on the road the next two guess where am not stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROACourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Kivinie J,

Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. I am certainly sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel.

Let me first assure you that this is not a typical experience our guests have at our hotel.
We strive to provide each and every guest with the best service possible and I am sorry we failed at that during your stay.

I offer you my sincerest apology for the confusion with the room type you booked and what room type you were requesting at check in. I certainly believe my Front Desk Agent could have handled the situation differently.

I certainly hope you give us another opportunity to prove ourselves the next time you are in the area. We are one of the highest ranked Courtyards in the Marriott family when it comes to guest service. I assure you that this was an isolated incident and I am confident that you, or any other guest, will never have an experience like this again.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments. I appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,

Adam Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a newer Courtyard with an updated lobby and restaraunt. Very friendly staff that know the area I loved the breakfast. I had the oatmeal that was about the best I ever tasted. The service was great too. Close to the Airport, shopping and a variety of good places to eat. If you're in town for a short visit or just driving along 81 and need a place to stop along the way the Courtyard at the Roanoke Airport is tough to beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff at this hotel is very courteous. From the moment I walked in the door I was greeted with a big smile and a genuine welcome, and the friendly, helpful service continued throughout my stay. AS ALWAYS.

I have stayed here several times now when in Roanoke. The first time in the area I stayed at another big-name hotel but was disappointed with the service and condition of the property. The second time I stayed at this Courtyard, and I continue to refuse to stay anywhere else. I look forward to my next trip back. Please keep in mind that this review is in the context of a person traveling alone on business.

First and most important: the rooms. They're of adequate size with comfortable beds and other furniture, the iron works and doesn't drip water all over your clothes, the wake-up calls are on-time, the heater / air conditioner works quick (albeit not too quietly), the rooms are pretty quiet from hallway or neighbor noise, and both the room and bathroom are really, really clean. I like that.

The property itself is clean, the exterior feels safe, and the interior appears modern and well kept up. For amenities, there's a small pool and spa, a back patio (where I saw some fireflies during one of my visits), free morning coffee, a kiosk to get your boarding passes, a bar with some food selections, and they sell Starbucks coffee in the morning along with some quick, cooked breakfast items. I also saw a laundry room and an exercise area, and they have a shuttle service for the airport, as well.

The location works well for me. It's one of the closest hotels to the ROA airport, the freeway on-ramp is nearby, the downtown area is only minutes away on the highway, and it's very close to the mall and good restaurants (try Abuelo's for Mexican food -- they even have some delicious vegetarian options). (Also, if you have some free time while traveling, bring your camera and make your way up the Blue Ridge Parkway to Mabry Mill. It's a good hour and a half or more to get there, but it's a scenic drive. Let the photo of the mill that hangs on the wall just outside the first floor elevators in the Courtyard be your inspiration to make the trip.)

When traveling, it's my opinion that a professional staff, a clean, comfortable room, and a good location are the pre-requisites -- the minimum expectations for a hotel. This Courtyard meets those expectations, but then adds to that with a wonderfully super-friendly staff. While doing work at a table in the lobby area each night, I couldn't help but notice how each guest was greeted with enthusiasm as they entered, and how sincerely happy the reception staff seemed to be to help people with directions, dinner ideas, and many other things. The staff in the bar/bistro, whether morning or evening, was also very courteous and customer-service focused. Any shift, each employee, every point of customer contact I observed was almost always spot-on.

About the only changes I'd make to the hotel would be to add in-room safes, get rid of the coffee makers on the sinks (there's coffee in the lobby), and fix one of the outlets in my room because the one closest to the bed wouldn't keep my phone charger plugged in (the others worked fine). Not much to complain about if those are my change recommendations, right? :)

To sum it up, this hotel is exactly what I look for in a hotel when traveling on business, and as I said before, I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Thank goodness a clean, updated hotel exists near the airport. Had a great stay, clean rooms, modern furnishings, and great service. Stayed two nights.

I just wish my room had a microwave and fridge. Mine had the space for a refrigerator, but it was missing in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not only is this hotel reasonably priced, has above average quality rooms and amenities, and easy access to I-581 and I-81, it has to have the friendliest hotel people in the state. It feels like a family reunion when I check in and check out. On my last visit a snow storm occurred and you could feel the genuine concern they had for all their guests. This is my #1 choice when I stay in the Roanoke area.

Room Tip: Spend a couple extra dollars and get a suite with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm a Marriott Rewards member who usually chooses Courtyards when I travel. They are always clean, comfortable, and quiet. The Roanoke Airport Marriott is no exception. I live in Roanoke, and for a couple of reasons needed to stay there for a night. The room was fine, the bathroom clean, and the staff was downright perky - not to mention very efficient. Loads of t.v. channels were available. A big plus for me, of course, was the Starbucks coffee bar in the lobby!

Room Tip: I always request the top floor, away from the elevator and ice machines! This is a good strategy fo...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Address: 3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Marriott
Roanoke Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.