We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a clean, comfortable hotel that gets all the big things right. The little things that make for a great stay, like a hot, complimentary breakfast or complimentary items in the rooms are missing. The price is also a little high for what they deliver. There is nothing negative to say about this location and you'll have a comfortable stay, just don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    61
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
32
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed at this Courtyard a few times. This time was for a VT football game when everything in Blacksburg was full.
The front desk had cute VT mints on the counter. Lots of VT guests in the lobby areas and restaurant.
Rooms looked like they had just been redone. Very spacious.
Nice linens - asked and received extra towels - no problem.
Didn't eat here but the breakfast is not included.

The gym is small but adequate - had a treadmill and an elliptical machine. Some weights and a weight bench. There's also an indoor pool.
Nice patio area out back with comfortable couches and chairs.
Lobby is new - touch screen TV where you can find local weather and other helpful information.
Very clean.

The hotel is located conveniently off of Hwy 581. There's a mall nearby and the airport is very close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Clean, safe hotel close to everything...mall, downtown, civic center, etc. warm and helpful staff...especially Terri who went out of her way to make our stay extra comfy. I'll be back to stay here on my next Roanoke visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland RI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Courtyard in Roanoke Airport. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff, especially Teri, Beth and Mandi were extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel so welcome after a long and tiring trip. Just what we needed. Thanks! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Marriott was great! It was clean and had no offensive cleaning odors as well as large rooms and queen size beds in the room I stayed. They gladly offered extra towels and were very friendly and helpful. I stopped at the drink and food bar for a late night snack and was pleased to find a menu of fresh light foods to choose from. The price is excellent and it is easy to find! I definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROACourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Geauxtrvl,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Roanoke Courtyard by Marriott.
I am delighted to hear you found your room clean and comfortable. I am also glad that you enjoyed our Bistro. We try very hard to maintain a high quality of food and service from our Bistro.
I certainly hope to see you on your next return trip to the Roanoke Valley!
Sincerely,
Adam Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here during Hurricane Irene, and the staff handled everyone who was here for that reason so well. Rooms were nice and spacious and the staff was great! Beautiful lobby with a complete business center. Pool room was good, but the pool was a little small. The hot tub there was great though! The courtyard in the rear of the hotel is good to go out and sit with friends anf family to talk! I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Suites facing North have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I chose this hotel after having a terrible stay at another Roanoke hotel. This was a great choice. I have become a Marriott Rewards member and love their properties because of the great service I receive. They are also great to acknowledge their loyalty members!!! My room was clean and had a lot of space. Most of all, the service by the staff was just awesome. Thanks!

Room Tip: Great choice of a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport

Address: 3301 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Marriott
Roanoke Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.