We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR THE MONEY IT WAS FINE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Valley Motel

Apple Valley Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Valley Motel
Save
You added Apple Valley Motel to your Saves list
5063 Franklin Rd., Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Surf City, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FOR THE MONEY IT WAS FINE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you wrote a negative review after paying the super low rate you got for the room you had, shame on you ! What are you crying for ? The room was a great value at 45 dollars. Clean, everything worked, and the owner offered to let me use cleaning rags to wipe my motorcycle off, Quit crying Betty ! The bad reviewers wouldn't be happy if you gave them the room for free. Trip Advisor sure pumps in the complainers ! I am on a budget every time I put the metal beast between my legs, so an inexpensive "PLACE TO REST MY LIMBS" is a welcome site !!! I stayed there May 19th, 2012 and I will send every motorcyclist I know there (well, at least the ones without the cows in tow)... This place is not the "Ritz", oh wait, you only paid 45 dollars ! thats right. If I had a dollar for every (1 review wonder), that complained about my buisness I could retire !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
1
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We walked in and the room smelled awful and looked like we walked back into the 60's. The beds were hard as rocks and so were the pillows, it was so bad that my friend slept on the floor.... the shower was ridiculously tiny and so was the bathroom itself.... I just do not recommend it to anyone....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, and the cost of $40.00 a night with basic cable, and extremely hot water!!! The showers were wonderful after riding the parkway all day. This hotel is in the perfect location for rinding the Virginia Blue Ridge Mountains.

The hotel management was very friendly, and I noticed there were other motorcyclist staying there. It is quiet and secure.

Once you leave the motel, the entrances to the parkway are less than 1/2 mile. You are in the center of the Virginia Blue Ridge Parkway. We rode all the way to the north end one day, and rode to the south end the other. Several major highways bring you back if you decide to get off the parkway. Must ride HWY 8.

I would highly recommend this room for those wanting to ride!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

If your basic needs are a place to sleep, it is fine. It was clean. It is not for the person with much in the line of electronics. There were limited outlets in the rooms and NONE in the bathroom. The room is dimly lit. The tvs are a little on the small side, but adequate. There is a small fridge but it is kept unplugged so it takes awhile to cool off. There is no microwave. I could not do my hair in the bathroom because of lack of outlets. Had to unplug a lamp in the bedroom to do my hair. Was told there was wi-fi but it was only in one room. We could only find one signal at all and it was very weak. They were not sure if it was thiers or not and did not know the passcode to get into it. Ended up using the signal coming from the Jag/Landrover dealership when it would come in. Phones are turned off in the rooms between 10 pm and 7 am. The beds were hard and the pillows were like rocks. However, it was not expensive and if you aren't bothered by hard beds with rock pillows and don't have a lot of use for electrical outlets it might be the place for you. I really would suggest bringing your own pillow. A pillow fight could have resulted in injury.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed at Apple Valley Motel for one week. Reason for choosing it was its weekly rate and it was costing me $26 per night. Later on I changed my motel and found $30 per night (weekly rate) at Travelodge thats a lot reasonable place to stay. Here is my opinion about Apple Valley:

Liked
-------
1) Neat and clean room
2) Mountain view outside motel and on Franklin road
3) Good voice chat quality on wireless internet

Disliked
-------
1) Very small room
2) Bugs in room. I kept iching for atleast 5 nights
3) Small TV with unclear reception. Only basic channels
4) Traffic noise that disturbed (sometimes) late night
5) Small wash-basin and shower room
6) No incoming phone calls after 10:00pm as board gets closed
7) Before check-in, they mentioned that bedsheet will be changed once a week
8) Sense of discomfortness as for atleast 5 nights, no one else was staying (there were approx. 20 rooms I guess)... Very dark surroundings.... and the family who is running business goes to sleep after 10:00pm :))

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

I have stayed at the Apple Valley a few times, most recently August 2008. The location is perfect for Blue Ridge Parkway vacationers like me. The room was clean, one of the two beds in the room squeaked badly every time we made even the slightest move. The shower was cold - no hot water in the morning. That was very dissapointing, particularly since I had been staying in campsites the previous days. I was expecting a motel to have a better shower than a campsite, this one did not. The bathrooms badly need major renovation. Bed was comfortable and nice, furnishings are spartan, I was looking for patio furniture, even cheap resin chairs would be have been welcome.

  • Liked — Proximity to Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Disliked — Cold Shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

I have stayed at the Apple Valley on numerous occasions and am just now reviewing it because TripAdvisor hadn't had it listed.

If safety and solitude are priorities for you, the Apple Valley is an ideal anchor spot when visiting the Valley. This facility meets basic needs. My room was satisfactorily clean.

No elevator here or available ice machine. I merely needed a place to sleep in between exploring around. I felt safe coming in at late hours.

Good rates are available when there aren't major events going on around the area.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Valley Motel

Address: 5063 Franklin Rd., Roanoke, VA 24014
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Apple Valley Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.