We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Campbell

Save Saved
You added The Inn on Campbell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn on Campbell
118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SHERYL CROW CONCERT!!!
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
“Stunning suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you find yourself within 50 miles of Roanoke, Virginia and need a room this is the place to be. I stayed there on a recent business trip and had a wonderful experience. The suites are stunning - comfortable and spacious. The entire building oozes charm as do proprieters Keith and Cindy. These fabulous hosts will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive, to the evening wine pouring, to the fabulous breakfast prepared by Keith - arguably the best I've had east of New Orleans. Even though I was the only guest the night of my visit, Keith and Cindy pulled out all the stops. This was clearly among the best B&B experiences I have ever had. Indeed, it's more like staying with old friends then in a commercial establishment. Oh, by the way, did I mention the price is right! I look forward to returning and this time bringing my wife.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
82
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

1-13-2014. My boyfriend and I traveled to Roanoke to have a peaceful weekend away from D.C., where we live. We stayed at the Inn on Campbell for two nights, and we were blown away with the service and amenities. The owners, Keith and Cindy, were so welcoming and hospitable; they just want to make sure your stay is memorable and comfortable! The inn was spacious, and very well decorated. We stayed in the Kirk Alley Suite, and I can't write enough on how comfortable the bed was and how the sheets felt like lotion. On top of the living conditions, the breakfast each morning was fantastic and full of flavor. The Inn's location is very close to many restaurants and attractions that Roanoke has to offer. I definitely recommend this Inn, you'll have a great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful overnight at the Inn on Campbell. What a great experience! Keith and Cindy are gracious hosts and have decorated the Inn beautifully. The wine and cheese gathering in the afternoon was the perfect way to start a weekend. We met our fellow guests and delightful conversation ensued. The wine was excellent also! Keith's breakfast of Bananas Foster French Toast was superbly prepared and devoured.

The Inn's location is ideal for anyone wanting to enjoy downtown Roanoke and the surrounding area. Numerous restaurants are nearby offering a wide variety of choices to satisfy any taste. Downtown Roanoke features numerous museums including: The Taubman Museum of Fine Art, The Science Museum of Western Virginia, The Virginia Transportation Museum and the O. Winston Link Museum. The Historic Roanoke City Market is just two blocks from the Inn featuring locally grown produce and meats. There are also numerous venues for live music and performing arts including the Jefferson Center, Kirk Avenue Music Hall, Mill Mountain Theater, Dumas Center, Elmwood Park, and the the Roanoke Performing Arts Center. In addition numerous restaurants feature live music. The Roanoke area features the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Appalachian Trail and numerous greenways. The Inn on Campbell is a perfect base from which to explore, with convenient access to the downtown offerings and an easy drive to the surrounding attractions. The decorations are upscale with much attention to detail. You will be sure to enjoy your stay at The Inn on Campbell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Inn on Campbell on New Year's Eve with friends, and what a wonderful way to bring in the New Year! Keith & Cindy are the ultimate hosts and The Inn is a combination of elegance and charm. Cindy & Keith have decorated The Inn so beautifully (I particularly enjoyed seeing their collection of art) and the rooms are extremely comfortable. I travel on business frequently and often think to myself upon leaving hotels what could have been done to improve my stay. Not the case here. I simply could not think of one thing. It was perfect, down to the smallest details. I would highly recommend out-of-towners stay here, as Cindy & Keith can recommend restaurants and attractions in the area, and I also recommend The Inn for a quick romantic getaway for those couples living nearby. The fresh berries, bananas foster Belgian waffles and sausage we had the next morning were to die for!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Innkeepers, Keith and Cindy, where already providing great service for us prior to our arrival. Keith met us out front to help us park our malfunctioning car, while Cindy decided that this stressed out driver might need wine therapy slightly ahead if schedule.

By the time we had a nice chat and toured the Inn, we all felt less concerned about the car and ready to have a nice dinner.

Cindy had made reservations for us and we were able to walk to our restaurant and enjoy part of a Dickens of a Christmas.

We all slept soundly in luxurious beds.

Keith is a very good chef and clipped fresh herbs for our delicious breakfast.

Cindy is an accomplished decorator and has a knack for combining traditional decor with modern. She and Keith also collect paintings and sculpture, many artists are their friends and live close by.

I felt very pampered staying at this Inn. Keith got me to and from the auto mechanic. They treated us like family and I hope to see them again and stay in their lovely inn.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We loved having you, mother and friend! Possibly this could become an annual trip for you all before Christmas. Thank you for the wonderful review! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located just blocks from a great downtown area full of fun things to see and do. The Inn Owners, Cindy and Keith, have done an amazing job transforming a downtown building into a beautiful bed and breakfast. The room was spacious, cozy, well decorated, and provided the most comfortable bed we have EVER slept in. The common areas were very cozy and welcoming to the point that we spent most of our time at the Inn in the library/den area. It feels like the home you wish you lived in. Do not pass up the Wine and Cheese therapy time with Cindy and Keith, it was one of the highlights of our trip, they are full of great stories and a blast to hang out with. We will definitely be coming back very soon. On our next trip to Roanoke we would not even think about staying any where else, we look forward to catching up with Cindy and Keith again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Keith and I enjoyed having you both stay for your 2 nights prior to your Christmas gathering with your family. We hope to see you again and again. It was like having wonderful family members staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our room was spacious, comfortable and impeccably clean. Keith had helpful tips on nearby restaurants and travel in the region, and cooked a gourmet breakfast. The Inn is situated two blocks from historic Market Square. Cindy and Keith could not have been better hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn on Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Campbell

Address: 118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown's only Bed & Breakfast. Turn of the century beauty is on National Historic Landmark Registry. Heart of pine floors, wainscoated walls & soaring ceilings lead to urban chic suites with oriental rugs, Scandia Down featherbeds, comforters & pillows. Enjoy breakfast in the dining room by candlelight or casually in the gourmet kitchen along with the innkeepers. Relax & let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Inn on Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.