We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Campbell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn on Campbell to your Saves list
The Inn on Campbell
118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I drove up to Roanoke on September 7, 2013 to see my favorite band on the planet (Donna the Buffalo) perform at the Kirk Avenue Music Hall. Proximity (just around the corner from the venue at which the band was to play) and the overwhelmingly positive reviews on this board made this small B&B a no-brainer on principle. But in practice, what a find it was! The proprietors, Keith and Cindy, are awesome people. The Inn itself is very nicely appointed, each room having its own unique character. The common areas (sitting room, dining room, spacious kitchen) provide an intimate, pleasant ambience that conventional hotels simply cannot create. My room was very comfortable. No view from the window, but I had no expectations on that score. After check-in my hosts welcomed me with a nice pinot grigio and assorted cheeses ("wine therapy" -- gotta love the concept), and we had a most pleasant conversation. It turns out that they are good friends with the venue's manager, and later on in the evening they dropped in on the show. Two fine chocolates were there for me upon my return from a great show and fun “hang” afterwards with the band and friends. The next morning Cindy and Keith served their guests a scrumptious breakfast – fresh blueberries, bananas foster waffles, and sausage, with orange juice and coffee. Not cheap, but definitely worth it. Class and lots of it. I look forward to returning to The Inn on Campbell the next time I’m in Roanoke and recommend it highly to fellow travelers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed having you! A breath of fresh air! Although I think you forgot to look out the window at the beautiful city view of the Wachovia Tower (especially at night) but you were busy enjoying some great music around the corner at our wonderful venue The Kirk Avenue Music Hall. Thanks for turning us on to the group! Please come back and see us again when you have some more time to enjoy our wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
91
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We celebrated my 50th birthday weekend with Cindy and Keith in their beautiful Inn and every aspect of our stay was perfect! We have stayed in B&B’s around the world and The Inn on Campbell is our standout favorite.

Cindy’s decorating talent is evident everywhere, from the overall cohesive beauty of every room to each interesting item placed within. The suite was luxurious while being extremely functional. Every amenity you could think of was already waiting for you – high-end toiletries and large fluffy bathrobes and slippers, a bar area that included water and soda in the mini-fridge, fancy coffee maker with all the “fixings”, even lovely glasses and mugs with the distinctive Inn logo. Like many before us, we could only describe the bed and linens as if we were sleeping on a cloud. We had two of our best nights’ sleep in years. (The unique and scrumptious chocolates waiting at our bedside after turn down may also have contributed.)

We enjoyed our first breakfast in the stunning dining room the first morning, joining two other couples. Cindy and Keith made us all feel like royalty, yet also like dear old friends at the same time. The stunning crystal chandelier hung over a round table set with sparkling crystal, silver, and china, and the tallest taper candles I’ve ever seen added another layer of sophistication and elegance with their flickering lights. Keith’s refreshing and juicy berry compote, with a surprising splash of white wine and basil leaves, is a dish we’ve already tried replicating at home. His banana foster waffles were sumptuous and decadent, and not a morsel was left on our plates.

Our second morning we sat at the bar in the kitchen, like close family members, as Keith served up thick flavorful smoothies, thick slices of rich fruit breads, and a “mess of eggs” (as Keith called it) that were creamy and abundant in all the flavors that make up a great brunch.

However, with all of the beauty and comfort, luxury and indulgence that are standard at The Inn, the Hummers are what truly make it special. They sincerely want each guest's stay to be absolutely perfect, a feat they achieve with what appears to be calm, carefree ease. It is clear they love being Innkeepers. Their warm hospitality wraps around you like a cozy blanket from the moment you arrive. Laugher is a staple at The Inn and you cannot help but relax, forgetting any worries trying to follow you there. There is no request they won't go above and beyond to fulfill. In fact, knowing it was a special birthday, they had a few special surprises waiting in our suite without my husband even asking.

Whether for a special occasion, vacation traveling, or to have a safe-haven during a business trip, you will never regret choosing the Inn for your stay. And you'll finish your stay knowing you've met two special people you now call friends and checking your calendar for how soon you can return. I know we did!

Room Tip: They have 4 great suites (and they let us see them all). We stayed in The Palladian Suite, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What an amazing review! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy your special celebration with us and hopefully many to come! We are so lucky to have guests just like you that always seem to leave feeling that they had a very special stay with us. All the best! Cindy & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here a year ago and it was wonderful, as comfortable as any five star hotel and much more interesting. We had the room with jacuzzi which we used both nights. Our room was really comfortable and we had a good night's rest. The breakfast cooked in front of us was great, with something different each morning. Unfortunately we did not get to meet the owners who sounded like really interesting people but their housekeeper, Pam, was a lovely lady and very helpful. A short walk into Roanoke central and all the restaurants and bars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are sorry that we missed you! Not often that we get away! I hope you will get the opportunity to come visit the Inn again and we can enjoy getting to know you and of course be pampered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place for a quiet romantic getaway, and perfect location for walking to downtown restaurants and shops. This place is immaculate, the suite we stayed in was spacious and well-appointed, and Cindy and Keith are friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We love having "Hooville" residents stay with us! We feel we offer tremendous value for our guests because we know it is so important to deliver fantastic hospitality for today's weary traveler. We hope that we have created an atmosphere that pampers our guests, with amenities that you won't find at most properties- complimentary "wine and cheese" therapy, hot gourmet breakfasts, Scandia Down bedding, custom drapery and bedding, oriental rugs, fresh baked cookies, port wine, and espresso coffee. We encourage all our guests to use these amenities to their fullest during their stay at the Inn... we call that value!

Enjoyed talking boxing! Hope to have you both stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, the breakfast was awesome, Cindy and Keith were very charming hosts. This was a lovely place to spend a weekend away. We really enjoyed spending the weekend in such a charming town, and could not have picked a better place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We loved having you here and were happy to be able to make your anniversary special! Hope you got lots of rest in our fluffy beds and lots of fun in our great city! We hope you will come back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently spent one night at Keith and Cindy's B&B. Elegant does not begin to describe their inn. They obviously love what they do and love having company. We enjoyed wine and cheese with the other couple staying at the inn, then they sent us off to dinner. There are several great restaurants within walking distance of the inn. The bedding in our room was the most delicious I've ever encountered - pure heaven. At breakfast, Keith came into his own with Bananas Foster over waffles - excellent. Roanoke is experiencing a renaissance and is a great place to spend a weekend. I was very sorry we did not plan more time there. Next time....
Keith and Cindy, thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for recognizing that "we love what we do" because we really do! Hopefully we will get up your way one of these days. Annapolis sounds so charming! Please come back and see us again and stay a little longer to see what our wonderful city has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We first heard about The Inn on Campbell in a travel article in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Looking for a new adventure, we visited Roanoke and were welcomed upon our arrival by Keith and Cindy. We had been told to get there for wine and cheese in late afternoon. We met some local folks and other visitors and immediately felt right at home. We have been in many B&Bs over the years. This place is a palace compared to many! Everything was so nicely appointed and served as a great place to stay and visit Roanoke. Our hosts also made dinner reservations for us at their favorite restaurants. Good choices! We have told our friends about it and hope others will take advantage of this beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Owner at The Inn on Campbell, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful review! We appreciate it so much! We love to hear that we are doing the right thing to make our guests feel comfortable and pampered. Please come back to see us again and if there are any special requests, please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Campbell

Address: 118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown's only Bed & Breakfast. Turn of the century beauty is on National Historic Landmark Registry. Heart of pine floors, wainscoated walls & soaring ceilings lead to urban chic suites with oriental rugs, Scandia Down featherbeds, comforters & pillows. Enjoy breakfast in the dining room by candlelight or casually in the gourmet kitchen along with the innkeepers. Relax & let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Inn on Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.