We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant and comfortable urban B&B in downtown Roanoke!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Campbell

Save Saved
You added The Inn on Campbell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn on Campbell
118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Burke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An elegant and comfortable urban B&B in downtown Roanoke!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We immediately felt welcome when we met Keith and Cindy, the innkeepers, and saw the room and common area furnishings, décor, and many details they provide to pamper you. The evening wine and cheese welcome they hosted provided the opportunity to chat, learn about the area, and get recommendations for great places for dinner. We enjoyed coffee and a wonderful breakfast, talking with our hosts and other guests. The inn location allows for walking to galleries, museums, shops, restaurants. We really appreciated their accommodating our changes in travel plans due to the storm the week of our visit! We will definitely stay at this inn again when our travels take us to or near Roanoke!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
82
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed @ B & B in Charlottesville, Lexington, Richmond, Christiansburg, Floyd and Ashville,NC and w/out a doubt none compared to the Inn on Campbell. They truly left 'no stone unturned' - the bedding, decor, breakfasts. The bathroom was lit so well and it even had a 'lighted' makeup mirror. Cindy and Keith - they were the best!!! Felt like we had known them for years! It was a fantastic stay and looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautifully decorated, warm and inviting - one of the best B&Bs we've ever been to. We stayed in the Palladium Suite and the decor was so fun to look at. The bed was luxurious and the fire place was lovely and easy. I'm a "television in the room fan" and they had a nice large flat screen. It's a very large room and has interesting architectural detail. The bathroom was a sensual oasis with a two-person soaker tub, double sink vanity and a shower for two. Keith cooked us great breakfasts both mornings. The berries were fresh and sweetened "just right" and his "main course" was prepared in front of our eyes. I'm a coffee snob and their equipment / selection passed my test. Keith and Cindy are easy to chat with - fun, interesting and very willing to help. They confirmed our choice of The Blue Apron for dinner (GO!) Make sure to take advantage of the farmers market and downtown shopping. Ladies - try La De Da - unusual clothing and jewelry...not the "same old, same old." It's a special weekend type of place and we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Inn on Campbell was our third B and B. It is our favorite by far. Our room (Kirk Alley) was absolutely perfect, Very neat, clean and inviting. The decor and anemities were spot on. Keith and Cindy are a charming, gracious and fascinating couple. We felt at home instantly. The cheese and wine, the tasty breakfast and the whole stay was delightful. We couldnt have asked for a better place to bring in 2013. If your looking for the perfect get away, look no farther. We will be returning as much as possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor we stayed at this 3 bedroom grand B&B on our way to Georgia for our daughters wedding. The furnishings throughout this home are beautiful, comfortable and a real treat to just be there for the night. Cindy and Keith greeted us as if we were long lost cousins. After chatting with us for a bit and showing us around the house they asked if we needed dinner recommendations. Cindy made reservations at Table Fifty which is a 2 block walk and the food great. We so enjoyed our stay I wish we could have repeated a overnight on our way back to Pennsylvania after the wedding. If you are anywhere near Roanoke and need a place to stay, you will be delighted you did! Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This inn is the real deal. We have stayed at many inns/BB's throughout our years of traveling. The Inn on Campbell is at the top of the list. The owners are warm and hospitable. They have created an ideal environment--beautifully and uniquely decorated, very clean and very comfortable.

We stayed in the Kirk Campbell Suite, a three room delight. There were soft cozy blankets, thick fluffy towels, a plush bath mat, Keurig machine, and a fridge stocked with drinks. The bed was supremely comfortable. It was like sleeping inside a warm cloud.

There were home-made cookies, chocolate truffles, and a freshly cooked breakfast.

The next morning, Cindy gave us a tour of the entire inn, including her private quarters, which were amazingly restored (with help from husband Keith) and decorated. What a treat this was.

We will be back if we are in Roanoke again. Or maybe we'll just have to plan a trip to Roanoke to stay at this delightful place.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful. The Kirk Campbell Suite is on the second floor and the others are on the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I were driving north from Nashville to New York City and spent a wonderful night with Keith and Cindy in Roanoke. Their beautiful home, gracious hospitality and great location made for an all around perfect experience. Everything from the beautiful room to the excellent breakfast to the wine/cheese exceeded expectations. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night ! They have mastered creating an intimate environment in an urban setting. We can't wait to visit them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn on Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Campbell

Address: 118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown's only Bed & Breakfast. Turn of the century beauty is on National Historic Landmark Registry. Heart of pine floors, wainscoated walls & soaring ceilings lead to urban chic suites with oriental rugs, Scandia Down featherbeds, comforters & pillows. Enjoy breakfast in the dining room by candlelight or casually in the gourmet kitchen along with the innkeepers. Relax & let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Inn on Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.