We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Campbell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Campbell
118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Marion, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfectly Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Inn on Campbell was our third B and B. It is our favorite by far. Our room (Kirk Alley) was absolutely perfect, Very neat, clean and inviting. The decor and anemities were spot on. Keith and Cindy are a charming, gracious and fascinating couple. We felt at home instantly. The cheese and wine, the tasty breakfast and the whole stay was delightful. We couldnt have asked for a better place to bring in 2013. If your looking for the perfect get away, look no farther. We will be returning as much as possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
68
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor we stayed at this 3 bedroom grand B&B on our way to Georgia for our daughters wedding. The furnishings throughout this home are beautiful, comfortable and a real treat to just be there for the night. Cindy and Keith greeted us as if we were long lost cousins. After chatting with us for a bit and showing us around the house they asked if we needed dinner recommendations. Cindy made reservations at Table Fifty which is a 2 block walk and the food great. We so enjoyed our stay I wish we could have repeated a overnight on our way back to Pennsylvania after the wedding. If you are anywhere near Roanoke and need a place to stay, you will be delighted you did! Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This inn is the real deal. We have stayed at many inns/BB's throughout our years of traveling. The Inn on Campbell is at the top of the list. The owners are warm and hospitable. They have created an ideal environment--beautifully and uniquely decorated, very clean and very comfortable.

We stayed in the Kirk Campbell Suite, a three room delight. There were soft cozy blankets, thick fluffy towels, a plush bath mat, Keurig machine, and a fridge stocked with drinks. The bed was supremely comfortable. It was like sleeping inside a warm cloud.

There were home-made cookies, chocolate truffles, and a freshly cooked breakfast.

The next morning, Cindy gave us a tour of the entire inn, including her private quarters, which were amazingly restored (with help from husband Keith) and decorated. What a treat this was.

We will be back if we are in Roanoke again. Or maybe we'll just have to plan a trip to Roanoke to stay at this delightful place.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful. The Kirk Campbell Suite is on the second floor and the others are on the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I were driving north from Nashville to New York City and spent a wonderful night with Keith and Cindy in Roanoke. Their beautiful home, gracious hospitality and great location made for an all around perfect experience. Everything from the beautiful room to the excellent breakfast to the wine/cheese exceeded expectations. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night ! They have mastered creating an intimate environment in an urban setting. We can't wait to visit them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was in town for business and what an amazing find. To relax with wine and cheese, then get great restaurant suggestions from Keith and Cindy, walk around downtown and come back to an amazing room was a treat! What they have created is unlike any B&B I have ever seen. Don't miss this place! Everything is at your finger tips.

Room Tip: I don't know if you can go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent a night at the Inn on Campbell last week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Inn is located near the center of activity in downtown Roanoke as well as within easy walking distance to the Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center. Our hosts, Cindy & Keith Hummer, were gracious and very helpful. They were delightful companions for afternoon wine and breakfast. Breakfast was bountiful and tasty; perfect way to start the day. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable, and we enjoyed spending time in the library right outside our room. Although an in town inn, the everyday noise associated with downtown was not a problem and parking was right across the street. Decorations were eclectic but tasteful and my wife picked up many tips from Cindy's efforts. If you want to visit Roanoke and all it has to offer and to be in the center of things, the Inn on Campbell is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell Suite that fronted on the main thoroughfare, but noise was not a problem a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely inn. The hospitality is unsurpassed with everything one could possibly need in the room as well as fantastic breakfasts each day. The whole inn is just beautiful and so warm and welcoming.
Cindy and Keith are wonderful hosts and are willing to make suggestions and reservations as needed.
We especially loved the Nespresso machine for a late night cup of coffee.
We will definitely stay at the Inn on Campbell on our next visit to Roanoke and have already recommended it to friends who visit Roanoke each Fall.
Parking is free and the location is great for walking into the market area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell Suite. It is lovely with a small sitting room that is separate from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn on Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Campbell

Address: 118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown's only Bed & Breakfast. Turn of the century beauty is on National Historic Landmark Registry. Heart of pine floors, wainscoated walls & soaring ceilings lead to urban chic suites with oriental rugs, Scandia Down featherbeds, comforters & pillows. Enjoy breakfast in the dining room by candlelight or casually in the gourmet kitchen along with the innkeepers. Relax & let us pamper you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn on Campbell to your Saves list