We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Campbell

Save Saved
You added The Inn on Campbell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn on Campbell
118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This inn is the real deal. We have stayed at many inns/BB's throughout our years of traveling. The Inn on Campbell is at the top of the list. The owners are warm and hospitable. They have created an ideal environment--beautifully and uniquely decorated, very clean and very comfortable.

We stayed in the Kirk Campbell Suite, a three room delight. There were soft cozy blankets, thick fluffy towels, a plush bath mat, Keurig machine, and a fridge stocked with drinks. The bed was supremely comfortable. It was like sleeping inside a warm cloud.

There were home-made cookies, chocolate truffles, and a freshly cooked breakfast.

The next morning, Cindy gave us a tour of the entire inn, including her private quarters, which were amazingly restored (with help from husband Keith) and decorated. What a treat this was.

We will be back if we are in Roanoke again. Or maybe we'll just have to plan a trip to Roanoke to stay at this delightful place.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful. The Kirk Campbell Suite is on the second floor and the others are on the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
87
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I were driving north from Nashville to New York City and spent a wonderful night with Keith and Cindy in Roanoke. Their beautiful home, gracious hospitality and great location made for an all around perfect experience. Everything from the beautiful room to the excellent breakfast to the wine/cheese exceeded expectations. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night ! They have mastered creating an intimate environment in an urban setting. We can't wait to visit them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was in town for business and what an amazing find. To relax with wine and cheese, then get great restaurant suggestions from Keith and Cindy, walk around downtown and come back to an amazing room was a treat! What they have created is unlike any B&B I have ever seen. Don't miss this place! Everything is at your finger tips.

Room Tip: I don't know if you can go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent a night at the Inn on Campbell last week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Inn is located near the center of activity in downtown Roanoke as well as within easy walking distance to the Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center. Our hosts, Cindy & Keith Hummer, were gracious and very helpful. They were delightful companions for afternoon wine and breakfast. Breakfast was bountiful and tasty; perfect way to start the day. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable, and we enjoyed spending time in the library right outside our room. Although an in town inn, the everyday noise associated with downtown was not a problem and parking was right across the street. Decorations were eclectic but tasteful and my wife picked up many tips from Cindy's efforts. If you want to visit Roanoke and all it has to offer and to be in the center of things, the Inn on Campbell is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell Suite that fronted on the main thoroughfare, but noise was not a problem a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely inn. The hospitality is unsurpassed with everything one could possibly need in the room as well as fantastic breakfasts each day. The whole inn is just beautiful and so warm and welcoming.
Cindy and Keith are wonderful hosts and are willing to make suggestions and reservations as needed.
We especially loved the Nespresso machine for a late night cup of coffee.
We will definitely stay at the Inn on Campbell on our next visit to Roanoke and have already recommended it to friends who visit Roanoke each Fall.
Parking is free and the location is great for walking into the market area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell Suite. It is lovely with a small sitting room that is separate from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Inn on Campbell recently on our way back home after seeing the W&M vs JMU football game and visiting our son at Virginia Tech. Even before the trip, Cindy was extremely helpful, recommending places to stay in the Blacksburg area, and changing our reservation when our schedule changed. We received a call from Keith the day of check-in asking if there was anything special we needed, and he greeted us on arrival out in front of the Inn, showing us to our parking space across the street. The Inn has reserved spaces in a lot right across the street-important in a downtown area. Keith & Cindy were both so warm and welcoming, and you can tell it's genuine. We met their two Cavalier King Charles spaniels-Taffy & Spottswood-who were sunning in the window when we arrived. After arrival, we spent some time with Keith and Cindy over wine & cheese. The location of the Inn is convenient to many great restaurants, galleries and some interesting museums, and a short drive to Mill Mountain on the Blue Ridge Parkway. We stayed in the Campbell Suite on the second floor, but were given a tour on arrival of all the rooms, all gorgeous. They were between housekeepers during our stay, but you would never know it-the place is immaculate. Here are some other notes about our stay: The breakfasts were great and not too heavy, the kitchen/sitting area where we ate was sunny and comfortable; the decor, history and architecture of the Inn is wonderful; the comfort of the room, from the bedding to the individual climate control, perfect. The small touches-chocolate covered strawberries at turn down every evening, the teas & coffees, water and sodas in each room, the reading area & stock of DVD's and books (extensive), the hosts knowledge of the area and of renovation (I think my husband could spend about a month just picking Keith's brain about renovation and maintenance), their concern for your comfort & safety (cipher locks on exterior and interior doors, easy to use), and their recommendations for what to do, see, where to eat in Roanoke-these add up to something really special. We've stayed in many B&B's and Inns over the years, and I have to say, this is the best on our list. And the prices are so reasonable for what you get-we paid not much less to stay at a Holiday Inn Express recently, to give a comparison. We give the Inn on Campbell our highest recommendation, and we look forward to coming back soon. Also recommended-the Taubman art Museum and Table 50-both an easy walk from the Inn.

Room Tip: The Campbell Suite is at the front of the second floor, overlooking Campbell, but street noise was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed with Cindy and Keith for 3 nights and it was pure delight. Not only the beautiful room, with more than everything one needs, but also their hospitality, helpfulness and fantastic breakfast are unbeatable.
It made our stay in Roanoke most memorable and we will certainly come back if only to stay in The Inn~

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Campbell

Address: 118 Campbell Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown's only Bed & Breakfast. Turn of the century beauty is on National Historic Landmark Registry. Heart of pine floors, wainscoated walls & soaring ceilings lead to urban chic suites with oriental rugs, Scandia Down featherbeds, comforters & pillows. Enjoy breakfast in the dining room by candlelight or casually in the gourmet kitchen along with the innkeepers. Relax & let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Inn on Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.