We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard and average Thai fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaba Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

Chaba Thai Cuisine
3603 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-2203
540-342-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Pretty standard and average Thai fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Chaba Thai Cuisine is a chain restaurant...and it shows! The fare is no more than standard Thai and pretty average at that. I ordered the Pad Thai...I've had lots better...and some worse! Just for the fun of it, I counted the shrimps....All seven of them! The service was OK and at least they had local Thai beer. All in all, I found the meal rather expensive for the average quality of the food. The only advantage this restaurant has is that it's close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great place to experience Thai food! The owner is very enthusiastic about guiding his guests to experience new flavors! Best curry in town by far!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this restaurant, the food is great, the owner is super nice, everything about the place is great.
Love their Pad Thai and my husband loves the red curry, great place for a date!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Place has been here awhile, was Pizza Inn (?) back in the 70's, then the Parkway Restaurant for awhile, then Tong opened his 2nd Thai location here, then Patty (I think) from MD ran it awhile, now Peter and co. run it. Good Thai food, Mango Chicken is awesome, Green Curry is very good too. If you come on a weekend night and it's full it may take awhile to get your food as you won't see a pile of servers working here, but just have a Singha and chill out.

Nice bar but the one big problem is the bartenders are now gone and they don't have a dedicated drink maker. That's not a problem for run-of-the-mill drinks, but it is for a drink you won't find on the menu any more, the Thai Tiger. If you like hot & spicy food, you will love this drink....well, you would if anyone could still make it. Hot Thai Chilis and Lemongrass ground up in a mortar & pestle, homemade Ginger syrup, a little sweet & sour mix....and....a boatload of vodka. Probably the most unique mixed drink I've ever had in my life. You almost needed a piece of cheesecloth on the end of the straw to drink it there were so many seeds, peppers, and lemograss in it....the straw would clog up. After Nara left this Spring, that was the end of the Thai Tiger, and you are definitely not going to go to any other bar in Roanoke and be able to get one, unfortunately. They have lost a lot of money from me from not having it anymore. They need to hire another bartender who can make Thai Tigers!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very good food but service was slow. One person in our party of 14 didn't get food until we were half way through our meal. May have been short staffed for a Friday night. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaba Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaba Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.