We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad housekeeping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bad housekeeping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

First room had leftover teddy and thong in the drawer, some kind of clear liquid on the tv, dresser and table - yuk. Coffee maker in second room still had coffee from the last guest. Front desk staff was rude to each other in front of me, pushy about restruant recommendations and not very appologetic about housekeeping problems.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    34
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
24
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

This is adequate, but nothing special. Rooms are being renovated; I was in a renovated room and it was fairly nice and included a refrigerator and micorwave. My room was clean. Rate included a very nice breakfast; more selection than the usual non-restaurant breakfast at these types of properties. Pool and fitness room were both small. The front desk staff did the minimum and didn't do anything to imply that they enjoyed their work.

Decent location near the airport in a cluster of motels and chain restaurants surrounding a mall.

BOTTOM LINE: If you get a good rate this place is fine, but I'm sure nearby properties of other hotel brands are nicer.

  • Liked — Decent rate
  • Disliked — Bland property, indifferent staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Well booked online and I'm gov't employee so I get the discount and all and checked in late evening and had to walk clear around the building and up the stairs with bags and 2 passed out toddlers to the 2nd floor (Room 200). The floors had large black stains, the comforters once folded had large brownish stains and the ceiling looked as if it had been leaking and repainted and spackled very badly several times. Not the room you want to stay in if you have allergies. I picked this place since gov't rated it a 3 star compared to the other Choice Hotels in the surrounding areas. Maybe I just got the bad room. Bathroom area was clean at least. The desk staff were very polite and the continental breakfast was the nicest I've seen with assorted pastries, cereals and fruit. They even had biscuits with sausage gravy. My husband was in heaven.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and easy to find off I-81
  • Disliked — Rooms were not very clean and ceiling looked to be health hazard.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport for three nights and was pleasantly surprised! I booked the hotel because nothing else was available, when many events were going on in the Roanoke area, but would likely return to this hotel if I needed to stay in Roanoke again.

The airport shuttle was prompt, and the driver friendly and helpful. However, the shuttle must be summoned when you arrive at the airport, either by cell phone or by one of the courtesy phones by the baggage claim.

Because I booked last minute, I was given an accessible room on the first floor. The room was clean and modestly decorated. As mentioned, it was an accessible room with a large bathroom, with an accessible shower without a tub. I can't complain, however, because the room also seemed extra-spacious.

Despite many girls basketball teams staying here for a tournament, the hotel was still calm. I was a bit nervous when the shuttle driver told me about the teams, but it did not affect my stay.

The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful as well. I did not have a car with me, and the front desk happily arranged for taxis during my stay. The front desk staff were also helpful in answering questions about the area.

The pool area was clean, and the pool was surprisingly warm. I was able to take a swim despite the unseasonably cool weather for July. The gym was quite small, however, but was enough for a quick workout. Free wifi was available, and I had no difficulties connecting in my room, the lobby or the breakfast area.

The continental breakfast exceeded my expectations of cereal, pastries and juice. In addition to the normal continental breakfast fare, there were biscuits, sausage gravy, hard boiled and scrambled eggs and a belgian waffle station.

The hotel is at the most a ten minute drive from downtown, and just a couple minutes from the airport. It is in walking distance of a large mall, and many, many restaurants. Although it was somewhat inconvenient because I did not have a car, taxis were reasonably priced and arrived promptly.

  • Liked — friendly staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — distance from city center
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

My parents stayed at this Comfort Inn when they visited me here in Roanoke. Though the hotel website stated that this facility accpeted dogs, the desk clerk hassled my mother when she tried to check in with her two terriers. The decor was frightening--lots of pink. It's also hard to get in and out of this property, especially if you're trying to get downtown.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

We had a one-night stay at this hotel going from atlanta to new york. I found it very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast satisfactory. My only complaint was I found the beds very uncomfortable. But for a one-night stay, that was fine. No other complaints at all!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.