We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taubman Museum of Art

Taubman Museum of Art
110 Salem Avenue SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
15403425760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 61 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

There is so much potential with this museum. Roanoke needed it. It will keep Rnk on the map and I hope Rnk realizes that. The art often could be increased in quantity. Too much open, unutilized space that should be filled. Get local artists involved, school art depts, local government, etc. But for now...it will do. They are wise enough to keep trying and making changes. It will be worth seeing what all they can do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brendasreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Danville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Art close by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my second trip to the Taubman Museum. As an art teacher I love to get ideas for things and artists my students can learn about. This museum has so many wonderful works of art it is difficult to say which is my favorite. Seeing works by artist names I recognize makes it even more fun. The children's creative area is terrific for them to express their inner artist. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in art.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but nice variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Contemporary architecture drew me in because it looked like Gehry. Was actually his student. Nice collection go contemporary American art. Lovely collection of Judith Lieberman handbags.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“A slice of culture: The Taubman Museum of Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

On a recent weekend stay in Roanoke Virginia my wife and I set out to explore several of the attractions in and around the city. The Taubman Museum of Art immediately caught our attention based on the striking and unusual architecture of the building.

Parking was easy in the Tower garage and the distance from the parking garage to the museum entrance was just a short walk. Upon entering the museum we were struck by the dimensions of the spaces, and the tremendous use of glass, all framed in angles.

The exhibits included works from Norman Rockwell, Judith Lieber, Martin Johnson, and Bill Rutherford. All in all it was informative, interesting, and a good way to spend a couple of hours seeing life through the eyes of extraordinary and peculiar artist.

Definitely worth exploring.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollins, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“This is now called "Taubman Museum of Art"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The name changed a few years ago - look for the new listing for the "Taubman Museum of Art". I'm surprised that this list is still active on TripAdvisor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank global-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing