We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taubman Museum of Art

Taubman Museum of Art
110 Salem Avenue SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
540.342.5760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

There is so much potential with this museum. Roanoke needed it. It will keep Rnk on the map and I hope Rnk realizes that. The art often could be increased in quantity. Too much open, unutilized space that should be filled. Get local artists involved, school art depts, local government, etc. But for now...it will do. They are wise enough to keep trying and making changes. It will be worth seeing what all they can do.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    24
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Art close by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my second trip to the Taubman Museum. As an art teacher I love to get ideas for things and artists my students can learn about. This museum has so many wonderful works of art it is difficult to say which is my favorite. Seeing works by artist names I recognize makes it even more fun. The children's creative area is terrific for them to express their inner artist. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in art.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Small but nice variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Contemporary architecture drew me in because it looked like Gehry. Was actually his student. Nice collection go contemporary American art. Lovely collection of Judith Lieberman handbags.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
520 helpful votes 520 helpful votes
“A slice of culture: The Taubman Museum of Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

On a recent weekend stay in Roanoke Virginia my wife and I set out to explore several of the attractions in and around the city. The Taubman Museum of Art immediately caught our attention based on the striking and unusual architecture of the building.

Parking was easy in the Tower garage and the distance from the parking garage to the museum entrance was just a short walk. Upon entering the museum we were struck by the dimensions of the spaces, and the tremendous use of glass, all framed in angles.

The exhibits included works from Norman Rockwell, Judith Lieber, Martin Johnson, and Bill Rutherford. All in all it was informative, interesting, and a good way to spend a couple of hours seeing life through the eyes of extraordinary and peculiar artist.

Definitely worth exploring.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The uniquely designed building houses a small but interesting permanent collection of American, Southeastern American and regional art along with ever changing additional exhibitions. It's a very welcoming museum which has something of interest for both young and old. Visiting the museum is a great way to spend a couple of enjoyable hours alone or with your children. My wife and I along with my wife's parents, both in their late 80's thoroughly enjoyed our visit and it wasn't "too much" for the elders.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taubman Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.