We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Saturdays are GREAT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taubman Museum of Art

Taubman Museum of Art
110 Salem Avenue SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
540.342.5760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 61 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Free Saturdays are GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

On saturdays, admission is free and they have great activities for little ones (10 and under). We have never been that impressed with the art collections, though. That being said, I love that they have such a cool space for the kids.

A downside - no food or drink allowed anywhere in the museum. (As a mother of a small infant, this was tricky). And the security guards are not very child friendly near the exhibits.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    33
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wannabe museum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

It's hard to imagine how this could be any worse. A big, avant garde building, the museum is shoehorned in among a bunch of early 20th century brick structures. It looks totally out of place. Add to that the fact that the ground/ entry floor is in a flood plain and cannot display any art and you begin to get the picture. Once you get to the second floor, there is precious little to see, and apparently not enough money to bring in good traveling exhibitions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What's art?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited the museum today. The transitional exhibit was the best part. It was a photo journey of Black Americans and civil rights. Some of the other exhibits I had to ask myself, "Who decides this is art?" There are some great pieces, but if you are like me and don't really have a BIG appreciation of art it might not be worth the trip. However, if you are just visiting Roanoke, it's free and something to do downtown.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eye Sore of Roanoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have never visited the TMA, but from what I am told, not much to see and the view on the outside is a real eye sore for out beautiful city

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not great, but worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The building is spectacular and a great addition to downtown Roanoke. For a small city museum it's pretty good. I was looking for their collection of folk art I had loved years ago when the museum was in the old building. Only a few pieces were on view. Lots of modern art that's interesting. A fabulous Sargeant and some nice American work from 19th century. Very moving civil rights era photo exhibit. Judith Leiber purses on display. Why? John Lennon/Yoko Ono peace exhibit a strange choice for an art museum. Put out more art and less fluff. Nice little museum shop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taubman Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taubman Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.