We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My mom said that if I have nothing good to say....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taubman Museum of Art

Taubman Museum of Art
110 Salem Avenue SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
540.342.5760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“My mom said that if I have nothing good to say....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place just misses the mark. Too much empty, open, unused space and the exhibits they get are just...well...terrible (and I love art!). I wanted to support this place. I wanted Roanoke to be more than just a railroad town...but yeah...this place is not worth the very expensive entrance fee. Better museums...world class museums (such as the Philadelphia Art Museum) are cheaper and offer amazing exhibits such as Renoir, Degas, Dali, etc.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    25
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Several very intersting galleries, both the permanent and changing exhibits. Stunning building. As a bonus, it was free!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a fan here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

First, it must be said that I am not a big lover of art. I can enjoy a good sculpture or painting, but beyond that I can take it or leave it. The location of the museum is convenient in downtown and close to many other things to do and see, and the building is something to be seen, but overall it was a boring 45-minute visit for me. There was just nothing to hold my attention. Lots of empty space and not much art. Disappointing considering how much money the thing cost to build, and how wildly out of place the architecture is in Roanoke. The art museum is a polarizing topic in this city for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Museums are NOT supposed to be so NOISY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Since the admissions have been lifted I expected it would be crowded but I went for a special exhibit of Harold Little, an artist friend of mine who died last year. His exposition was in a TINY gallery but there was an annoying theatrical guy guide there who made the experience unbearable by nearly yelling out the "interesting influences of Harold's artwork" in that little studio---I didn't ask for, nor did I want an interpretation. He then announced he was moving to the atrium area to sing a song, at which time he'd already lost me & my companion---we just wanted him gone. His theatrical booming voice in that small space only detracted from the experience of Harold's art; the acoustics made it unbearable. When did it get to be that going to a museum could no longer mean a quiet and private time of reflection and appreciation?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Norah's Cafe is it's own kind of art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Attended a women's conference at the Civic Center last weekend and during our lunch break, stumbled upon Norah's Cafe at the Taubman. We ordered lunch and sat in their lovely outside dining area enjoying a little sunshine before returning to our event. What came to our table was art in itself....a lovely salad filled with the freshest of fresh ingredients, a wonderful dressing that set off the salad so perfectly, and a glass of red wine to finish it off. The servers and chefs were professional, kind, and welcoming. I have had much lesser service as much better-known high end restaurants. Thanks guys for a wonderful respite to a rather hectic day, for wonderful/beautiful food, and for your kindness and charm! Hope it's a fine day at Norah's today...I'll see you next time I'm in Roanoke! Thanks, thanks, thanks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taubman Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taubman Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.