We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time we stayed...our favorite B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George Inn
Save
You added King George Inn to your Saves list
315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
madison
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Third time we stayed...our favorite B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

For the third visit, just as wonderful as the first. Bed, food, atmosphere...everything great. We especially enjoy the King George Room. The king bed is like sleeping on clouds. Thanks Jim and Lynn for making us feel so welcome in your home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and loyalty! We so enjoy greeting our returning "family".
Kind regards,

Lynn and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
98
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wife and I have stayed at several B&Bs across the country. This was our favorite. Lynne was out of town but Jim took incredible care of us. The house is fantastic and food was the best we've ever had at a B&B. Convenient to everything in the area. I can't recommend it enough. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Jim and Lynne were fantastic hosts and made us very welcome the rooms were clean and the inn was exceptional value for money. Our stay in Roanoke was a two night stop off on our journey across the states and the town was interesting. If you have time visit the Taubmann museum.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two nights here. Breakfast was amazing. Bed was comfortable. Rooms were quiet. Hosts were very friendly and super helpful. Nice location on quiet street. Nothing to be desired! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is located in a charming century-old home filled with antiques and a terrific ambience. Hosts Jim and Lyn are very welcoming. Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed and the absence of a TV was not missed. We breakfasted with other guests and enjoyed an excellent cooked meal. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed to break up our journey and what a pleasant surprise ,rooms amazing and a warm welcome from Jim.Bed really comfy,a good nights sleep.Then in the morning an individual type breakfast,. Good conversation around the breakfast table,and hosts who hunted for us the best route south.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saegertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lynn and Jim (nicknamed Prince George by my cousin) were wonderful, warm hosts in this beautiful, historic Inn.
I traveled from Pennsylvania to spend time with my cousin in Lynchburg. She had a houseful of temporary guests, so we planned a get away in Roanoke to have more time to catch up.
This was the perfect Inn to relax. It was centrally located and only a 1.1 mile walk to downtown Roanoke and the Center in the Square. Also a short drive to the Star and Roanoke Zoo.
We stayed in the Charolotte room. It was very spacious, clean and decorated nicely. The bed was very comfortable.
Jim gave us a recommendation of the Metro downtown to eat. Wonderful recommendation!
Lynn and Jim served a delicious breakfast in the morning consisting of a fruit compote, blueberry pancakes, sausage, fresh orange juice and coffee.
We highly recommend this Bed and Breakast!
Also if you ate in the area you should take a 15-20 minute drive to Valhalla Winery, for the wine tasting and the amazing view.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.