We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The King George Inn is a Roanoke favorite.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George Inn
Save
You added King George Inn to your Saves list
315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The King George Inn is a Roanoke favorite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I live near Roanoke and so I am familiar with many of the local lodging options. Of course, I have a favorite. When the opportunity arises for a quick week-end get away to shop and enjoy the downtown Roanoke market place area, you can't beat the King George Inn for a perfect place to stay. Lynn & Jim totally spoil all of their guests. The house is a magnificant, well restored, historical Roanoke mansion. The location is perfect for enjoying the downtown area, and what a treat to come home to the KGI after enjoying one of the many downtown Roanoke festivals (presently the "Dickens of a Christmas" when I stayed with Lynn & Jim). 5 stars! A+! Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
91
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have so enjoyed my mutiple visits to this inn! I don't think the pictures capture just how beautiful and charming this place is! The house has been immaculately cared for over the years therefore many of the moldings, tiles and fireplace mantels are original and in rare form. The best part of this inn?....The dedicated and loving inn keepers-Jim & Lynn! WIthout them the King George Inn would not be the comfortable, welcoming, unique spot that it is. They have made this historic home a place where visitors want to be. A plus? Lynn is an artist and displays her pieces as well as others around the home, her culinary skills are artistic and yummy too. Jim is a gentlemen with an interesting past and warm character and he even carries up your suitcase! Both bring a uniqueness that makes you feel like your extended family! Oh, don't forget to take the short walk for dinner at WildFlour-I think one of the best spots in town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for the gracious review..and...for "better than a Pro" posted Photos...I enjoyed seeing them. Safe travels.
L&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Jim and Lynn are some of the nicest people I have ever met! They are gracious and hospitable. My husband and I visited for several nights for our 1 year anniversary and had a great time touring around Roanoke. They were very helpful with directions and fun things to do. The queen Charlotte room we stayed in was very nice. The bed was very comfortable! The food for breakfast was very good....it felt like your mom was cooking for you. Lynn gave us a tour of her kitchen since she knew we were foodies. Will definitely stay here again if we come back to Roanoke to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lynn and Jim are the kind of people who if they lived in a tent in a field, would welcome you in and look after your every need. Fortunately for us travellers they live in a beautifully restored Victorian house in the historic district of Roanoke. Inside, the decor and furnishing are a tribute to their good taste and the walls are enlivened by paintings including some for sale by Lynn, who is an accomplished watercolour artist. Comfortable bed and cooked to order breakfast round off the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the phone call to book the room, through our stay (which we extended when we had seen the B&B) to our checking out, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed by Jim and Lynn and felt immediately comfortable with our avuncular hosts. The first impressions are most impressive - lots of space and beautifully furnished. We took their advice on where to eat dinner (Wildflour) nearby and that certainly 'hit the spot'. We enjoyed breakfast very much, sitting around one large table with our fellow guests and then joined by Lynn when she had finished cooking. Jim, too, was very helpful with his local knowledge.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks guys, for the lovely review and the awesome connection! Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Lynn and Jim
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We used to stay at the Roanoke Hotel. We found this wonderful B&B and felt like we were home.

This is a can't miss place to stay. Lynn & Jim will make you feel like family.

The breakfast are great and your close to everything downtown

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious review...you are delightful guests.
Lynn and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First trip to Roanoke and staying at King George Inn was a lovely experience, made all the better by the warm and friendly hospitality of Lynn and Jim. House beautifully furnished. A lovely place to stay and feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: All looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.