We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George Inn
Save
You added King George Inn to your Saves list
315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
madison
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were at the end of a wonderful trip celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We were very tired when we arrived and were greeted graciously by Jim and Lynn. The house is absolutely beautiful and the king bed is like sleeping on a cloud. Being more awake in the morning we very much enjoyed the breakfast and company. We are already discussing when we will be able to travel and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
98
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Jim and Lynne were amazing hosts- so hospitable and sweet and the breakfast was amazing! The hospitality is what really made this stay great- the info they shared on dining and area attractions was also very helpful.

Perfect place for our 1-year anniversary! And we'll definitely go back if we're ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Thank you Jim & Lynn for making us so welcome on our brief visit. The attention to detail in your house is amazing. Breakfast was fantastic - pity we couldn't have stayed longer. The recommendation for dinner was first class and within walking distance which was good after a long drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
339 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Earlier this month my husband and I stayed a night at the King George Inn. What a beautiful place and what great hosts Lynn and Jim are. We spent the evening sitting with them and just chatting about all manner of subjects and felt like we'd known them for ages. They had lots of information about Roanoke and places to go and eat.
The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was old and if you like modern, this may not suit you, but we found it adequate.
Breakfast was excellent--delicious food and plenty of it.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I was amazed at the size of the rooms here. The interior design highlighted the historic feel of the home. The hosts were gracious and helpful. They made great recommendations for dinner and downtown events. We had a wonderful night sleep on a high quality bed and woke to a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have never before written a review because I have never before had such an excellent experience at a Bed and Breakfast even though I have stayed at many. Our family came from North Carolina, Arizona and Florida and stayed at the inn taking up all of the rooms for my niece's wedding July 12 through 15.
Everything from how the rooms were appointed to the absolutely amazing breakfasts were beyond our expectations. The innkeepers, Jim and Lynn Hunt, are the most gracious hosts I have ever experienced in twenty years of staying at B & B's. They are very special people. We felt so comfortable with them that we invited them to our niece's wedding, and Lynn actually came. She was so much fun!
My sweet brother has mental disabilities and and in the past has been treated unkindly by many people. Jim went out of his way to talk to him and spend time with him. How wonderful Jim was to make my brother feel important and valued. That is something I will appreciate and remember for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: We had all of the rooms each one is beautiful. Choose by the bed you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night on a whim while we were traveling through Virginia, and very much enjoyed Jim and Lynn and this big, beautiful southern home - for us New Englanders used to cramped b&b's we enjoyed the spacious, sunny rooms and perfect hospitality. I personally loved the vintage tile in the bath, but if you want everything "new" this place is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.