We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Suites Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Cambria Suites Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambria Suites Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Bluefield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Was recently with my mother at Roanoke Memorial Hospital for a 12-day stay. After 7 nights of sleeping in a recliner in her room, I needed to do some laundry and sleep in a comfortable bed. The close proximity of the hotel to the hospital is ideal. This place looks brand new - and the staff was so kind. They also offer a discount for stays when a relative is in the hospital. The breakfast bar and coffee stations were great and it was nice to have a parking garage since it snowed a bit a while I was there.

My ONLY fault with the entire place is that I wish there was a small laundry room, with several sets of washers and dryers instead of only one set. But even that wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy that we were here to serve you! Hopes that this finds all well with your Mother!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    89
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
122
72
21
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Traveled with my boyfriend recently for a weekend getaway. Everything about the interior of this hotel was sheer perfection. Rooms were wonderfully clean and modern. Tons of towels and bath products. Hotel was very quiet and beds were great. Front desk was very efficient. Only minor complaint was the ridiculously tight pull up to check in and creepy jam packed underground garage. parking outside the garage was abundant. Short drive down interstate to shopping and dining, but the quality of these rooms more than makes up for the short drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review - unfortunately we suffer from design from being in the 100 year flood plain! that is why we are built up so high and the explanation to the turn around in the drive and the parking garage. i am delighted that you found everything else to your liking. We hope to se you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore md
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

To break up our drive to Asheville many times we stop in Roanoke area , I took a look at trip advisor there was Cambria Suites
So we book it , with friends with us we had 3 rooms , had 2 bedroom and 2 single kings and always a big question is after you leave is Would you want to stay there again and all said Yes !
From check in to check out all was great ,And the shuttle driver that night I ask for a baggage cart so here comes Jim and help us with luggage
Now if your pulling a trailer do not pull up to front entrance unless your good at backing up it is to tight at top to turn
But you can park near garage entrance and walk into garage take the elevator to check in.
It really not a inconvenient having to do that

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are delighted that you chose us for your stay! We are so blessed with an awesome staff! Jim is a pleasure and makes it his priority to assist with that sweet smile! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We met here recently as an extended family, each family getting different rooms so we could get the young cousins together in the pool for a birthday celebration. It was nearly perfect - the larger suites were so spacious and well-designed, even the smaller rooms were larger than a regular hotel room and the beds were VERY comfortable. The bathrooms have upscale fixtures. The pool was not big, but adequate for these little guys and fun was had. Location was great, great, great - mere moments from downtown in a quiet, scenic location. Staff was professional, gracious, kind, responsive. The only issues that kept this from being a perfect stay were: no complimentary breakfast of any kind (even a light option would have made this a slightly better value for traveling families) and the noise insulation between rooms and levels was on the light side - meaning it was difficult to keep an even moderately active toddler from disturbing other patrons, which stresses everyone out unnecessarily. If we ever return with little ones, we'll know to get a ground-level room in this particular hotel. Otherwise, an excellent stay in a wonderful property!

Room Tip: If traveling with young children, choose a ground level floor to avoid disturbing your neighbors - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are very proud of our property and sincerely hope that your family chooses us for your next get together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our college age daughter, my wife and I had a wonderful stay at Cambria while visiting family that have just moved to Roanoke. great new hotel. I really liked the 'suite' part of the room for reading and relaxing. It was the first time in a Cambria and it won't be the last. Pam, at the breakfast buffett area, started our day with some of the best customer relations I have had in some time. She was a gem by giving us all our options and service with more than a smile; a wonderful attitude made us really feel welcome. See you next time!

Room Tip: side away from railroad tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Pam has become quite the celebrity because of TripAdvisor! We have had guests come in and ask for her by name and say that they just had to meet her because of the wonderful things people say about her! We are blessed to have her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were in Roanoke for professional education class and were snowed in for three days! The staff stepped up and worked their tails off to make the best out of the situation. Most notably was Bob, the chief in the kitchen. He stayed night and day at the hotel to make us breakfast, lunch, and dinner! He did an amazing job with limited resources. Jill took orders, made drinks, bussed tables, etc. no stop! These people deserve credit for going above and beyond the call of duty!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for understanding how hard they worked! We are so blessed to have a wonderful dedicated staff that really cares about our guests! I share all of the comments that our guests take the time to write with the staff and Bob and Jill will be delighted to see that efforts were appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There are not enough adjectives to adequately express the level of service and comfort that the staff of this amazing property provided to our family during the darkest time we have ever experienced. In September2013, my mother was diagnosed with a brain tumor - surgery, stroke, infection all followed. She was unable to recover and passed away in November. But If there is a silver lining, the staff of the Cambria Suites was it! They restored my faith in human kindness. They showed us all that is good in this world through their kindness, compassion, caring, love and support! Our family was there for over a month and we gained friends, true friends, for life! Thank you Jill and Tony, for always being there! And of course your Excellent bar tending skills, especially those Cosmos - But mostly for the time you spent listening to our hearts - many tears were shed with you, and I am so grateful that you were there to hold my hand through this horrific experience. I could not have made it without your love and support!
The property is top-notch In all aspects - the cleanliness of the rooms - fresh linens and towels every day, even leaving a note finding money that we had lost; the friendliness of all staff - "is there anything else we can do for you" ; comfort of the rooms - spacious and comforting; deliciousness of the food - we had everything on the menu - literally - and it was all excellent ( loved the blueberry French toast- thanks Pam) and the most accommodating front desk - our crowd came and went, our numbers changed, our dates changed and NEVER was it a problem!
I wish I could remember everyone's name, but if you were employed by the Cambria Suites during September, the you were OUTSTANDING!
We will be back to stay here for pleasure soon - simply to say thank you in person and to see the staff that held us in their hearts! They are truly exceptional and I am so blessed that they are part of our lives! From the bottom of our most grateful hearts- Mattie and family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Mattie - we were all so sorry for the devastating loss of your Mother. I am so blessed to have the wonderful staff that I do! Jill, Tony and Pam are treasures, along with the rest of the staff. We got so close to your family that we all felt a loss and your comments just made me cry! Please come see us soon - we will celebrate life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Free internet...
Show More
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Free internet...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Roanoke Airport
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#13 of 37 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Suites Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Suites Roanoke

Address: 301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Suites Roanoke 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cambria Suites Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Suites Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.