We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay when going to the doctor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Cambria Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when going to the doctor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel before taking my 6 year for a sleep deprived EEG. It was very nice and clean. The room was a nice size and the bathroom was relaxing. The only downside to the place was the restaurant which wasn't inviting because it was open into the lobby and the bar was front and center. We didn't eat there due to this since my 6 year old was with us. Everything else was nice including the pool even though it was a bit small.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayandnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your found relief to he problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here in April for two nights when another hotel we normally love to stay in when overnighting in Roanoke was sold out. The area right around the hotel itself is kind of unattractive (probably a result of new construction) but the accommodations themselves were fantastic. Comfortable bed, clean rooms and not too far from our downtown destinations. We would certainly stay here again and look forward to seeing the landscaping improve as it likely already has!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ga_in_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne L, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Your review was late and my reply later! We are progressing! Come back and see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a wonderful way to ease our mind for the early morning surgery at the hospital. Otherwise we had an even earlier start to our long day. And, your doctor's staff will give you a form to qualify for a lower rate that the hotel and hospital has pre-arranged. Plus the hotel is clean, beds were great, and the staff was friendly. The underground, well lit garage was a bonus with the rainy weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are so happy to be here for the people visiting Roanoke Memorial Hospital. I hope that the surgery was successful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

When we walked into the hotel it did not bode well as there was a very strong unpleasant smell in the reception area, which was here for the full stay. I queried it but the receptionist didn't seem to know what it was.
I thought that we were going to have a problem but the room was immaculate and very well laid out - and didn't have that smell. We had a one bedroom suite and it was a great size, with a large bathroom.
Note that their shuttle to town doesn't run on a weekend and that there is nothing near the hotel, but we got a quick taxi in to town and had a nice meal at Billy's.
As other people have said its a great location for the Parkway, the rooms are very good, and perhaps most importantly the staff are all very helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WolveyGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are aware of the ventilation issue with the kitchen affecting the common areas and are looking for a solution. Otherwise it sound like you enjoyed your visit and hope that you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a pit stop on the way down the Blue Ridge Parkway.

It was ok. The room was good and clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

But the food was truly dreadful- almost inedible. Also, it's a bit strange not having a changing area by the pool (tiny) and the pool could also do with a clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sdsteinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are aware that we had problems with our menu and have completely revamped out entire food and beverage program. Please give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
262 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Cambria Suites Hotel for 4 days and found it modern, our room clean and well decorated with nice absorbent towels. Our only disappointment was that breakfast wasn't free. There is a choice of $5.50 for a help yourself breakfast consisting of bagels or bread, cream cheese, jellies, mixed fruit cup & coffee, or one for $9.50 with help yourself eggs, bacon, potatoes, grits, fruit and bread bagels. The dining area is well lit and someone is there to take away the used dishes. We saw someone order an omelet, but couldn't find any mention of if it's always available or the price. Thankfully parking and Internet is free - and while we didn't mind paying for breakfast, there isn't anything unusual about it whereas other hotels feature a free breakfast with pancakes, freshly made omelets, etc. The hotel - at least when we were there - is good for sleeping because it's quiet with nothing close-by unless you have a car and can drive to a McDonald's or restaurant for breakfast or dinner.
There are 2 TVs in the room, a nice sitting area, and large room nicely divided. However, we would have appreciated brighter light in the bedroom because we couldn't read in bed and had to use the small area where there's a desk.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equal, but am not certain. Pets are not allowed. There's a refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We have added ala carte menus for breakfast so that it is now clear what the options are. Unfortunately breakfast is not free at any Cambria Suites. We do offer a complimentary Shuttle service within a 5 mile radius of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and really liked the service, but does not include any breakfast. That is an extra $9.50. Also the pool was not clean and is quite small. The pullout sofa was very rough sleeping. Not much padding over the springs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 47fireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Unfortunately the lack of complimentary breakfast is our biggest shortfall in the eyes of our guests and I apologize. It is not offered in nay Cambria Suites. The small pool is also standard. Other than that I am glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites

Address: 301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing