We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Suites Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Cambria Suites Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambria Suites Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night during a drive down the Blue Ridge Parkway.
We had a massive room with a divider between bedroom area & sitting area. It had a mountain view & we should have been able to see the Roanoke star but because of the atrocious weather it wasn't visible (saw it the next morning). Underground parking was very welcome due to the weather - also not intimidating, I had no qualms about returning to the car to get something without my husband.
Very clean. Huge comfy (firm) bed. Had a great night's sleep. No noise.
Good bathroom with stylish fittings. Wet bar, fridge & microwave (although we didn't use any of those).
Ate in the hotel lobby / bar / restaurant. We both had salads which were surprisingly good. Much better than I expected.
Breakfast wasn't included but we decided to go for it. The cold buffet was ample for us. We only really wanted toast & coffee but were tempted by some of the included juices, cereals & yoghurts!
All the hotel staff we interacted with were friendly & helpful.
Overall, I would stay there again & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, Owner at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are glad that you chose us for this stay and hope that you return during your next visit to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Roanoke!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    89
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
121
68
21
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corydon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I chose this hotel because my business partner and I could each have king beds and a separate room. the hotel is only about three years old and the upkeep will keep it new for a long time. The Desk staff made me feel welcome upon my arrival and was careful to insure I was aware of the many amenities available to guests: fitness room, indoor pool, breakfast bar, and a small sundries store by the desk. One of the nicest features is a parking area under the hotel that allows hotel access without going out into the rain or other weather. The price was very reasonable. I intend to headquarter in this hotel during my future Roanoke visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are delighted that you have chosen us as you new headquarters in Roanoke! I will pass your comments along to the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I wanted something close to the Blue Ridge Parkway as we were taking it all the way from its northern most entrance to Asheville, NC. Roanoke was a good midway stopping point. The room was very nice, although a bit dark even with the lights on. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Nice to have two TVs (one in sitting area, and one in bedroom area). Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. No restaurants within walking distance so had to drive to find some dinner -- a bummer since we had been in the car all day. But overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Monday through Friday we have a shuttle that will be happy to take you downtown to restaurants and pick up up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was fine in almost every way - comfortable room, clean bathroom, helpful staff (mostly) but the overpowering smell of cooked food permeated all of the public downstairs areas which made it unpleasant to walk in to. It's situated a little out of the way of the centre of Roanoke, so we drove in for dinner and found a good place to eat. The breakfast in the morning was alright...nothing special and the man running it tried to charge us even though we were on a breakfast inclusive rate. It was ok for an overnight stop, but I would have been disappointed if we were staying for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your response - We are working on a solution for the air filtration in the kitchen and hope that you will give us another try if you are in Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed there twice now for business and both stays have been nothing less than excellent. The staff though really makes the heart of this hotel! The rooms are nice size with 2 flat screen TV's. The beds are comfortable and baths a good size. Clean, Friendly, Welcome,.....Great Stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much Jason! We look forward to many more returns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just came back from staying two nights at this hotel. Check in was very quick. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was quite large. Beds are extremely comfortable. Very clean and comes with Bath and Body Products. Especially liked having two flat screen TV's. Convenient when one person wants to sleep and the other one stays up and watch television. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs which also serves a Breakfast Buffet which was enough to get you started for the day. The staff is extremely helpful in helping you find things to do. For anyone who likes baseball there is a Single A Minor League Boston Red Socks field a short ride away. Downtown Roanoke is a five minute ride with shops, museums, and restaurants. Parking on a Saturday is free in the garages up until 4:00. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if traveling through Roanoke.

Sandy & Howard
East Norriton, PA (located right outside Philadelphia)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your return and are glad that you enjoyed the Red Socks too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the first time we've ever heard of and stayed at a Cambria Suites! We were highly pleased with the quality of everything from the comfortable pillow top beds to the cleanliness of our room to the friendliness of the front desk ladies! When we arrived, the staff swapped our Queen room for a King room with a view of the Roanoke Star after I heard about this view via previous posts (which my child said was "magical" to look at from the sofa bed in the suite living room)! I agree w/previous posts about the pool being very small, but it's still a lot of fun for the kids! We didn't try any of the food at the hotel, but it'd be nice if they included complimentary breakfast! There was fresh fruit as well as yogurt parfaits as well as cold juices and Vitamin Waters available for purchase 24/7 and thought that was pretty cool (we had stocked up on snacks before we came not knowing the hotel sold these items)!

Definitely the place to stay if you're on a budget but want classy! btw, we appreciated all of the outlets to charge up cameras, iPods, phones, etc.

There is also a huge community outdoor sports complex directly across the street -- great place to let little ones run and let some noise out!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne L, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I love the "magical" comment from your child! Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambria Suites Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Suites Roanoke

Address: 301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Suites Roanoke 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Cambria Suites Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Suites Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.