We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, a new number one in my places to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Suites Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Suites Roanoke to your Saves list
Cambria Suites Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a new number one in my places to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I booked this room on Hotwire and what a deal! The only issue I had was Hotwire listed "free breakfast" and when I went down after a great night sleep and a super hot shower there was a sigh that it was a charge of $9.50 for the buffet. I asked the lady working the area and she said no free breakfast but check at the front desk, I went there and was told the same thing. I had to pull up the hotwire reservation to show her before she finally gave me a coupon to cover the cost. It was not really that big of a deal to me but if you were with kids it is huge! The room was wonderful with fridge and microwave. They have garage parking with is nice or you can park outside. They even have bikes to rent as they are near a wonderful walk/bike path. Great place, don't overlook this gem!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am happy that the staff gave you the breakfast voucher and we have corrected the error with Hotwire as breakfast is not generally included in our rates. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    108
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
143
87
24
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
perth, west oz
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After seeing all the previous reviews, we followed suit, on route from Washington DC to Nashville, & were not disappointed! Beautiful, clean, well equipped hotel for a one night stopover! All the things you need, great service at dinner & breakfast (extras), comfy beds, warm shower, good gym with well maintained equipment, free parking & quick check out. Situated near a train line, but we didn't hear any noise. Great value at $139US +tax.

Room Tip: we asked of a room at the front, away from the train line, but not sure if this is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! As our hotel is so close to the trains we are fortunate that construction took that into consideration and the hotel is well insulated. The only complaint that we usually get is from little boys who do not hear the noise that they WANT to hear. thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

my wife and i stayed at cambria-roanoke in november 2012. it is basically a suite-type hotel with an ultramodern and airy lobby/lounge. if i am understanding the chain's concept correctly, it is to achieve success by "trying a little harder" than the rest. they mostly succeed. staff was friendly and helpful. the rooms are indeed large and ours was clean without exception. do you really need two televisions (trying too hard)? the bathroom is well-equipped but we prefer a sink outside the toilet area. good selection of tea and coffee with maker, microwave, small frig. nice television channel lineup with easy remote. outdoor or underground parking. pool and gym areas are kept neat. many reviewers have commented on the cleanliness and upkeep but keep in mind that this is a new hotel...time will tell. the location, essentially in the middle of a large parking and train clearing, is convenient to the highway and the medical school but it is not in the downtown area. you will need a car for meals, etc. our only real concern is that breakfast is not usually included and purchasing can bump the price up quite a bit (i believe $9-10/person)...get this straight and in writing before arrival. otherwise, you will likely enjoy this hotel and its amenities.

Room Tip: any room away from the first floor public and pool/gym areas will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We DO try harder! Even though we are not in downtown - we are 1 mile away and we offer a complimentary shuttle within 5 mile radius Monday through Friday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel especially when you consider the price. The room was spacious and modern and the beds were great. Good location for walking or running. The hotels provide bikes that can be used to ride along the Roanoke River trail. The bar/lounge area is very open with natural lighting and good views. We will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! Please come stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modern and very clean. Easy to get to, IF you follow directions and look at maps. No breakfast included, but room price was so reasonable that didn't matter. Tried to go out and find a place to have dinner close by, ended up driving around in circles and became very frustrated. Returned to the hotel, they have a small restaurant in the lobby. Ate there, is was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. The Chicken Alfredo pizza was divine. Everything was clean and up-dated, a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
You are correct that Roanoke can be difficult to get "around" every thing goes in a circle! But I am very happy that you enjoyed your dinner once you found your way back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel it self is good, quite new and clean. Personally i love having the possibility to go running straight from the hotel and to a park or forest near by. From this hotel you can go running up several paths on the near by "Star mountain" or what it is called. You have to do a few hundred meters along side some roads past the hospital near by, but nothing to dangerous.

The bar and restaurant is ok and the breakfast to except it was not included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the location to Mill Mountain and the Roanoke Greenways. Now that the weather is cooler you might enjoy the state of the art fitness center or bike rentals on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, close to everything, great service, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. My only complaint is they need more lighting in the room, but otherwise a great place. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne L, General Manager at Cambria Suites Roanoke, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Sorry I missed this and thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Suites Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Suites Roanoke

Address: 301 Reserve Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Suites Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambria Suites Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Suites Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.