We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect blend of comfort and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Sheryl Crow Concert
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of comfort and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I had planned to spend one night in Roanoke before heading south to Asheville, NC, as many other travelers do. Staying in this wonderful B&B reminds me of why this type of lodging is so much better than in a hotel. The beautiful house has been redone by Ron and Claire, the owners, with the utmost taste and quality. Immaculate, well-appointed, comfortable. Ron greeted us warmly, offered good tips for restaurants (Local Roots, excellent!), and helped us get settled. We were greeted with home-made chocolate chip cookies, beverages, and basically access to the whole house, including the front porch. Breakfast the next day was delicious and filling, and got us through the Blue Ridge Parkway without having to have lunch. Ron kindly did everything to accommodate my food allergy as well as to assure our utmost comfort. This is the way B&B's should be. Ron is proud of his inn and of his hospitality, as well he should be. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
56
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful B&B. I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, cozy place to stay or a better host. From the moment you step foot through the door you know Ron not only put his heart into restoring the home, he'll also put 110% into ensuring your stay is as comfortable as can be. If we ever visit Roanoke again, we will definitely be staying at the Black Lantern Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Look no further. This is where you should stay next time you are in Roanoke. The Black Lantern Inn is a beautiful bed and breakfast tucked away in the center of Roanoke within walking distance to many local spots. This 100+ year old home has been restored to perfection. There is not single nail out of place, nor a single squeak from the floor. Ron, our friendly host, is a true master craftsman and it shows. The design is thoughtful - our room was spacious and the bed super comfortable. AND, this place is spotless. As is common, we shared a bathroom with the other tenant on our floor. The Inn provides complimentary soda and beer, wine and champagne can be purchased at a very reasonable price through the honor bar. We arrived to yummy homemade chocolate chip cookies. As it happens, Ron can cook a mean breakfast, too.

The Black Lantern Inn is a little slice of heaven and we will be back. Do stay here the next time you are in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks Danielle and Michael for taking the time to write such a kind review. I just want to make a little correction for future guests. Each of the guest rooms has its own private bath, two en-suite and one located just outside the room. Your nice review has prompted me to label the bath door to avoid any further misunderstanding.
Sincerely, Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After two nights in a local hotel with a noisy A/C unit in the room I canceled my remaining nights and moved to the Black Lantern Inn. Booking via the web site was easy and the location was very good with neighborhood areas to walk, parks and restaurants all very convenient. Appreciated amenities included free parking, Internet, use of a kitchen/refrigerator and wine and beer available for purchase. Accommodations were clean and charming. Working from the back deck was relaxing. Ron was a terrific host and he makes a delicious fruit and yogurt parfait!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A night at the Black Lantern Inn is a welcome reprieve from the rest of the world. I recently had a lovely stay in the Skyline room, on my way to and from a conference. With the excellent ratings, I figured I couldn't go wrong booking twice. I didn't.

The innkeeper, Ron, is the absolute epitome of the best host ever. He seems to be able to sense whether you want to be alone, or hang out with him on the porch. We enjoyed his company, quite a bit, and not only enjoyed good conversation, but learned a lot in the process. We were extremely glad to have made his acquaintance.

Upon enquiring how he was able to create such a successful B&B, (and the building has quite a history, but I'll leave that for Ron to tell you), he told us, "Well, if you're going to have a good bed and breakfast, you should have good beds. And good breakfast."

Sounds simple, doesn't it?
There were $1,000+ Vera Wang mattresses, and gourmet, from scratch breakfasts, created by Ron. And it was not lost on us.

My friend and I only hesitate to write such a glowing review because we don't want our room all booked up. Roanoke is definitely on our destination list now, if only because of the Black Lantern Inn. http://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful experience. Breakfasts were awesome. The B&B is charming-the decor and attention to detail in the building and its furnishings and accessories is "spot on".....and the privacy and comfort offered are excellent. Claire was not present during our stay, but Ron was a great host and we all liked him immediately. Nancy served us breakfast and she is another gem in this jewel of a B&B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were traveling home after a long visit with 5 generations of family in upstate New York. We had been driving all day and we were weary. We followed the precise directions to a gravel lane leading to the Black Lantern Inn. From the moment we saw it we knew we had made a good choice. The grounds and landscaping, stone walls and fencing were impeccably maintained. We were greeted outside by Ron who had been working on a project. He was friendly and seemed genuinely happy to see us. He took us inside and all I can say is WOW! He gave us a tour and explained that he had rehabbed a tear down house in this beautiful historic district. It was, in all respects, better than new. Pictures on the website don't begin to tell the story. We had planned to go out to dinner but when I spotted some gourmet pizza in the freezer and asked if we could purchase one and stay in for the night, Ron offered to prepare it and he made the evening truly special. You have to see this place for yourself and the scrap book of the before and after pictures to truly appreciate the talent and taste of Ron and Claire. They will make your stay a memorable one and, I think, put a smile on your face. J & B from Tennessee

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet and lovely but all rooms were spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Address: 1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list