We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Save
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list
1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were here for only one night but wish we had planned something in Roanoke so we could stay longer but we were on our way to another destination. Ron and Claire have done an amazing reconstruction of the inn to its present glory. Our room was very clean and the breakfast of pancakes and omelet was delicious. I would stay here again if in Roanoke.

Room Tip: Our room was small with only one small chair but I believe it could have accommodated more seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
69
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This Inn is lovely! Painstakingly well thought out, each room is unique and comfortable. It's quiet and charming while Ron & Claire, the proprietors are respectful of privacy and very helpful. Ron did every bit of the rebuild himself and it is done to perfection! The breakfast of eggs Benedict over a potato cake instead of an English muffin is to die for! It is a fabulous little get away in the middle of town, close to everything and they even have loaner bikes to take out onto the nearby greenway bike trail! Perfect place!

Room Tip: The skyline room is really beautiful and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just returned home from the Black Lantern Inn. Where to start? The house itself is amazing. I loved looking at the before and after photos. As stated in some other reviews, the renovation was detailed and every space within the Inn is both beautiful and comfortable. Then on top of the space is Ron. He claims to have just started cooking when he opened the Black Lantern. Can that really be believed?? The breakfasts were delicious - I've never had better pancakes and french toast. Everything was prepared fresh and at whatever time I desired. There is more than one space to eat breakfast, but I enjoyed the dining room facing into the kitchen. I felt right at home chatting with Ron as he was preparing the food. Definitely will be back to the Black Lantern if I return to Roanoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to take in the Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway; the Inn is exceedingly convenient for easy-on easy-off from the Blue Ridge. Our host Ron was very accommodating and obviously very proud of the wonderful restoration work he has undertaken on this beautiful old house. It is a pleasant walking neighborhood, and Ron directed us to a delightful restaurant just a short walk away. Every detail has been considered, and Ron's fresh cookies and gorgeous breakfast were a delight.
The room was sumptuously furnished with a very large comfortable bed. Proximity to I-581 is a little close, but that makes access from the highway convenient.
We would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if available, although noise was not excessive and did not intr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Black Lantern Inn and loved it. The restoration work Ron did on the Inn has made it exquisite and welcoming. Everything was great: Ron's gracious greeting and help with everything from what to see and do to where to eat or jog, delicious chocolate chip cookies in the evening, spectacular breakfasts, beautiful room (The Venetian), very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with jetted tub, fresh flowers in our room and at breakfast. We're sorry we don't have more occasions for traveling through Roanoke!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The only negative I could possibly come up with is that it's kinda tricky to find. BUT beautiful place -- Ron redid it himself. Looks brand new inside. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Wi-Fi. Flat screen tv's, super breakfast whenever we wanted.
Reasonable price for what you get. Don't think you could possibly go wrong with these guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My two nights at Black Lantern Inn, May 3-4, were most pleasant. The bed part of the B&B was lovely -- very comfortable! And the breakfast part, wow! On the first morning Ron served the best blueberry pancakes I've ever had, scrambled eggs with herbs, sausage, diced fruit with yogurt and his signature potato cake. He takes great care with his cooking, and it really shows. The second morning was just as good: French toast, fried egg, bacon and potato cake. Yum!
The house is well decorated Roanoke style, with many interesting pieces of art and history. As it gets a bit warmer, it will be nice sitting on one of the three porches.
One tip: be sure to read the directions on the web site. Parking is off an alleyway behind the house, and the gravel drive is easy to miss. But once you get there, you'll be pleased.

Room Tip: I stayed in the downstairs room, a good choice for privacy and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Address: 1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.