We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vrey comfortable and convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Save
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list
1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Scotia NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Vrey comfortable and convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to take in the Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway; the Inn is exceedingly convenient for easy-on easy-off from the Blue Ridge. Our host Ron was very accommodating and obviously very proud of the wonderful restoration work he has undertaken on this beautiful old house. It is a pleasant walking neighborhood, and Ron directed us to a delightful restaurant just a short walk away. Every detail has been considered, and Ron's fresh cookies and gorgeous breakfast were a delight.
The room was sumptuously furnished with a very large comfortable bed. Proximity to I-581 is a little close, but that makes access from the highway convenient.
We would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if available, although noise was not excessive and did not intr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
61
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Black Lantern Inn and loved it. The restoration work Ron did on the Inn has made it exquisite and welcoming. Everything was great: Ron's gracious greeting and help with everything from what to see and do to where to eat or jog, delicious chocolate chip cookies in the evening, spectacular breakfasts, beautiful room (The Venetian), very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with jetted tub, fresh flowers in our room and at breakfast. We're sorry we don't have more occasions for traveling through Roanoke!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The only negative I could possibly come up with is that it's kinda tricky to find. BUT beautiful place -- Ron redid it himself. Looks brand new inside. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Wi-Fi. Flat screen tv's, super breakfast whenever we wanted.
Reasonable price for what you get. Don't think you could possibly go wrong with these guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My two nights at Black Lantern Inn, May 3-4, were most pleasant. The bed part of the B&B was lovely -- very comfortable! And the breakfast part, wow! On the first morning Ron served the best blueberry pancakes I've ever had, scrambled eggs with herbs, sausage, diced fruit with yogurt and his signature potato cake. He takes great care with his cooking, and it really shows. The second morning was just as good: French toast, fried egg, bacon and potato cake. Yum!
The house is well decorated Roanoke style, with many interesting pieces of art and history. As it gets a bit warmer, it will be nice sitting on one of the three porches.
One tip: be sure to read the directions on the web site. Parking is off an alleyway behind the house, and the gravel drive is easy to miss. But once you get there, you'll be pleased.

Room Tip: I stayed in the downstairs room, a good choice for privacy and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Along with my husband and 8 month old baby we spent a night at this wonderful inn. Ron is so welcoming, the rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was plentiful & fantastic. We highly recommend this inn. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ron is a superb host, from the excellent website with lots of links about things to do locally, to the comprehensive music library and the Fat Tire beer in the fridge! The breakfasts were truly gourmet and set us up for the day - no need for lunch! The bedroom and en suite was well equipped, we could not think of anything that was not there. We had our own key, so could go in and out at our convenience and use the porch and lounge for a break from sightseeing and hillwalking. Ron has maps and guidebooks, help with good restaurants as well as bicycles and golf clubs....what more could you ask for?
The best B & B we have been to in a very long time and we do not hesitate to recommend it to others visiting the area.

Room Tip: We saw them all and they were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Decorated so well and SO much attention to detail. It was truly a joy to spend time here and a relaxing start to our getaway. We stayed in the third floor suite. Breakfast was excellent and the owners were very welcoming and helpful! Would stay here again and recommend to anyone going to Roanoke!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Address: 1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.