We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in an inn was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Sheryl Crow Concert
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in an inn was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I didn't know exactly what to expect going into this adventure, but I was met with warm hospitality, excellent amenities, and delicious food. We were in the Tiger Eye room, which offered a wonderfully comfortable bed, access to the whole second floor kitchen area, and an adorable breakfast seating area where we were served omelettes, pancakes, hash browns, sausage, and the most delicious yogurt I've ever had in my life. I would definitely recommend this inn to all of my friends and if you get the chance, make the switch from a boring hotel to this pampered night of relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
56
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Black Lantern Inn twice and can't recommend it highly enough. Our first experience was 2 or 3 years ago, and although I'm late writing this, we stayed there again this past October and the experience was just as good. We arrived on bicycles on a Sunday and found there were no restaurants open. Ron went WAY out of his way to accommodate us by picking up pizza, beer and wine for us. The next day he insisted we borrow his vehicle to drive to a bike shop (I left my cycling shoes at home). The breakfast was outstanding and plentiful. Our stay this past October was equally comfortable - we LOVE the Skyline Room on the 3rd floor - all rooms are beautifully decorated and the bedding is super comfortable. Ron and Claire allowed us to have friends come in for their wonderful breakfast, and they will all go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

While on our honeymoon, my wife and I decided to visit my childhood hometown of Roanoke, VA. We made reservations to stay at the Hotel Roanoke, but wound up coming to town a night early. We looked for a bed and breakfast for the extra night, and chose the Black Lantern Inn. We certainly made the right decision! The house was beautiful, our room appointed with a canopy bed and an amazing private bath. We were greeted at the door by Ron, the Innkeeper, showed to our room, and given a tour of the Inn, which I remembered from my childhood as being boarded up and quite an eyesore. Ron made recommendations for our dinner plans, provided us with drinks, and some friendly conversation (like the oddity that I grew up in Roanoke and moved to Illinois, whereas Ron is from Illinois (Chicago, to be exact) and wound up in Roanoke! Breakfast the next morning was incredible from start to finish (the honey-and-granola-topped fruit and yogurt has become a favorite in our house!). An absolutely delightful stay in a surprising, hidden gem in the Star City!

Room Tip: From what we saw, any of the guest rooms would make for a wonderful visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gate City, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived a bit early and were warmly greeted by our host. He even offered to help us get our things from the car. This inn is finished to a very high standard. Every detail was just perfect. Our room on the main floor had its own bathroom complete with a tub with several hot water jets. Everything in the room worked as expected. There were several TV channels. The temperature was just right. Breakfast the next morning was on time delicious, and the portion size was generous. We have traveled extensively and this was one of the best B&B experiences we have had in a long, long time. We would highly recommend this place to all who visit Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our first visit to the Black Lantern, Ron was there to greet the weary travelers at close to 11 pm and show us to the very comfortable, well appointed Venetian Room. Ron again accomodated us the next morning by serving us an early breakfast. Upon request, he provided us his recipe for the scrambled eggs which were so light and uniquely enhanced. The Black Lantern is very guest-centric - many small conveniences have been thoughtfully provided to ensure the stay is relaxing and fun. It doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My fella and I were blown away by the Black Lantern in every respect. It was romantic, relaxing and ideally located. The House is newly renovated by the Inn Keepers themselves, and everything was beautifully done. The house is fresh, clean, and comforting. Ron and Claire, the Innkeepers, went out of their way to graciously accommodate our very specific dietary needs. They also strike the perfect balance of being welcoming, engaging the guests and leaving folks to relax alone. Besides the unbelievably luxurious bed, our favorite B&B perk was the new set of bikes/locks/helmets available for our use. We biked all over downtown Roanoke until late in the night. Next morning, after breakfast, we went for a ride on the nearby greenway. The location is ideal, and Ron has even made maps for guests to take so they can have an experience with less car traffic. We will absolutely be returning to the Black Lantern Inn!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are beautiful. For the most privacy, book the Skyline room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a very good stay at this inn as part of a holiday in New York and Virginia.
Room very good, was a little warm the first night but soon rectified by Ron. Breakfast excellent, really set us up for the day. Claire and Ron were excellent hosts, going out of their way to welcome us and assist in any way they could. Several very amusing conversations about US v UK (we're from the 'old country') language and customs including cricket, the unfathomable game called baseball, Shakespeare etc
The renovation carried out by Ron and Claire is first class, finishings, furniture etc of the highest standard.
Peter s

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Address: 1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list