We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Save Saved
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list
1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

While on our honeymoon, my wife and I decided to visit my childhood hometown of Roanoke, VA. We made reservations to stay at the Hotel Roanoke, but wound up coming to town a night early. We looked for a bed and breakfast for the extra night, and chose the Black Lantern Inn. We certainly made the right decision! The house was beautiful, our room appointed with a canopy bed and an amazing private bath. We were greeted at the door by Ron, the Innkeeper, showed to our room, and given a tour of the Inn, which I remembered from my childhood as being boarded up and quite an eyesore. Ron made recommendations for our dinner plans, provided us with drinks, and some friendly conversation (like the oddity that I grew up in Roanoke and moved to Illinois, whereas Ron is from Illinois (Chicago, to be exact) and wound up in Roanoke! Breakfast the next morning was incredible from start to finish (the honey-and-granola-topped fruit and yogurt has become a favorite in our house!). An absolutely delightful stay in a surprising, hidden gem in the Star City!

Room Tip: From what we saw, any of the guest rooms would make for a wonderful visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
59
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gate City, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived a bit early and were warmly greeted by our host. He even offered to help us get our things from the car. This inn is finished to a very high standard. Every detail was just perfect. Our room on the main floor had its own bathroom complete with a tub with several hot water jets. Everything in the room worked as expected. There were several TV channels. The temperature was just right. Breakfast the next morning was on time delicious, and the portion size was generous. We have traveled extensively and this was one of the best B&B experiences we have had in a long, long time. We would highly recommend this place to all who visit Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our first visit to the Black Lantern, Ron was there to greet the weary travelers at close to 11 pm and show us to the very comfortable, well appointed Venetian Room. Ron again accomodated us the next morning by serving us an early breakfast. Upon request, he provided us his recipe for the scrambled eggs which were so light and uniquely enhanced. The Black Lantern is very guest-centric - many small conveniences have been thoughtfully provided to ensure the stay is relaxing and fun. It doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My fella and I were blown away by the Black Lantern in every respect. It was romantic, relaxing and ideally located. The House is newly renovated by the Inn Keepers themselves, and everything was beautifully done. The house is fresh, clean, and comforting. Ron and Claire, the Innkeepers, went out of their way to graciously accommodate our very specific dietary needs. They also strike the perfect balance of being welcoming, engaging the guests and leaving folks to relax alone. Besides the unbelievably luxurious bed, our favorite B&B perk was the new set of bikes/locks/helmets available for our use. We biked all over downtown Roanoke until late in the night. Next morning, after breakfast, we went for a ride on the nearby greenway. The location is ideal, and Ron has even made maps for guests to take so they can have an experience with less car traffic. We will absolutely be returning to the Black Lantern Inn!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are beautiful. For the most privacy, book the Skyline room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a very good stay at this inn as part of a holiday in New York and Virginia.
Room very good, was a little warm the first night but soon rectified by Ron. Breakfast excellent, really set us up for the day. Claire and Ron were excellent hosts, going out of their way to welcome us and assist in any way they could. Several very amusing conversations about US v UK (we're from the 'old country') language and customs including cricket, the unfathomable game called baseball, Shakespeare etc
The renovation carried out by Ron and Claire is first class, finishings, furniture etc of the highest standard.
Peter s

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Some Inns pay their way to a good rating. These folks EARN it! Selecting Black Lantern Inn as a last minute stay was the best luck I've ever encountered. Having stayed at many B&B's over the years, I was just a little blown away at the owner's thoughtfulness to any detail one could wish for. Claire & Ron KNOW how to operate a true B&B! From the outstanding breakfast to the every guest comfort one could imagine, Very delighted with the Tiger's Eye room & private bath with hydro spa tub. The linens & bedding were top notch! The full guest kitchen was complete with honor bar & gallon jugs of fresh milk for those fantastic plates of cookies they leave for you. I took full advantage of it. :-) So impressed with the house itself. Lovely lovely decor. Had the best fun in the downstairs living area with a music library that was serious for any music lover. Found myself being very entertained by Ron's knowledge of great music & all things Chicago & Da Bears. Too fun! What wonderful hosts these folks are. If you find yourself in Roanoke, skip the usual hotels & treat yourself to a true southern hospitality retreat. Wish I could have stayed a week! I will go back when next in the area. Did I mention, the great views? Yeah, sitting on the upstairs covered area with a glass of wine..... Heaven. Two words people, BOOK IT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent a great time with Ron in his beautiful home. He was happy to sit and talk for as long as we wished and he made us feel like family guests. The breakfast was first class. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Address: 1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.