We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burger In the Square

Burger In the Square
3904 Brambleton Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24018
540-400-8645
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 415 Restaurants in Roanoke
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food, Family Fare
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hard to find a better burger. Reasonable prices, too. Two recommendations: 1) gear up to process orders as fast as they come out. Too often the order line backs up to the front door. But once the order is placed, they get it out. 2) Get rid of the frozen onion rings and make your own. Everyone is cheerful and helpful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Burgers, few healthy options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you want a healthy meal, this is not the place for you. But if you want a delicious burger, these are great! The burger tasted as if it were made of fresh meat. I could have used a bit more seasoning, but all in our party enjoyed their burgers. The onion rings and fries were great, too and they did have a side salad as the only healthy choice I could see on the menu. The restaurant was doing a great business. The seating area is small, possibly as there is limited parking. It seems this would be a great alternative to fast food for a burger to take home.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I ordered some take out as I was traveling alone and passing through Roanoke. Got a double cheeseburger and a hot dog. Both were pretty good and not very expensive at all. For a quickie take out I think this place is just fine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE BURGERS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I generally eat my burgers medium well but I do not have to tell them that. They cook them as you like. I absolutely love these real meat burger. They make them to order. The onion rings are delicious. AND THE SWEET TEA is AWESOME! It is because of Burger Square that I no longer eat fast food burgers. I find myself only wanting theirs. And let me say, the staff is really friendly. You can sit in, or call in, or just take out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay food, decent price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I had the Bleu burger and my hubby had the BBQ bacon burger with a super dog. All of the food was okay, but nothing super special. I was really looking forward to this place because of all the great reviews, but we were pretty let down by the so-so food. I mean, their food is better than Burger King and fast food, but I've had better burgers at Mac n Bob's in Salem. I think the one thing really lacking in their food was seasoning....it just really had no taste at all. They probably should have had grilled buns or fresher buns too.

This place is great for people watching though ;). The cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The bathroom was rather gross and I set there and watched a worker come "wipe down" the tables by making one pass on either side of the table without looking, and completely missing all of the food left on the table.

Will we go back....probably not, but it wasn't so terrible that we'd refuse to eat there again if someone wanted to.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burger In the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burger In the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.