We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical for this brand - no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
marietta GA
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“typical for this brand - no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This tends to be a pretty reliable chain based on my experiences.
Hotel was clean, things looked new.
Rooms were comfortable.
Fridge in room is always handy.
front desk was very helpful and nice
indoor pool and hot tub area was clean
hotel is very close to interstate as opposed to others in Roanoke
not much around the property in teh way of restaurants - just a few c-stores and mexican? restaurant out front, but not a long drive if you need to get something
breakfast is much better than most properties - extended hot food along with a great assortment of pastries and cereals

overall - an excellent choice for an overnight interstate stop

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    64
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
82
57
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shdema, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We originally booked one night and later added another night which somewhat confused the reception staff.
We got our room and as we entered we found out that the carpet near the air conditioner was flooded with water. Returned to the reception and received an apology and the keys to the room next door. This one was ok but later we found that the water in the bath didn't empty fast. Also the bathroom door needed painting. Besides those things room was comfortable and the indoor pool was nice. Breakfast had quite a large selection including cheese omelets and home fries. Kids loved the waffle maker.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. Pool was great, breakfast was good and room was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpfull! Bathroom was very big and clean as well. The beds were big enough and there were no noises during the night. I recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at Country Inn in Roanoke to take my RN state boards. Absolutely excellent service. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the room was clean and comfortable, and the hot tub was clean and relaxing. I didn't hear any noise while in the room. The staff is used to getting stressed out nursing graduates, and I felt like I had my own team at the hotel cheering me on for my test. Pretty cool hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laporte, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After checking in, we learned that the pool was closed due to maintenance. We chose this hotel specifically because of the pool services. Do you know how hard it is to tell children, after a long hot car ride, that they cannot swim in the pool? That the one thing they were looking forward to the entire day for five hundred miles, they couldn't do. Instead of telling us upon arrival that the pool was closed, we had to read the sign on the pool door ourselves. We paid for all the amenities included at this hotel, and we were not compensated in anyway. If we had been informed beforehand, arrangements could have been made and tears might not have been shed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We certainly apologize that the pool was not open during your stay and that you were not informed of this prior to arrival. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel along the interstate about 15 minutes from downtown Roanoke. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was ok but the pillows were without any support. Bath and towels were average. The staff is very nice. The indoor pool area was clean, fairly spacious and seemed to keep the noise contained. WiFi was surprisingly fast for free hotel-provided internet. We were even able to stream Netflicks (and that is not often the case). Air conditioning is a little noisy but keep the room very comfortable and the thermostat worked pretty well.

Room Tip: The hotel is a long, two-story building. Stairs are at the lobby end with the elevator down towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snjmom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nice town, clean, comfortable hotel. We stopped here en route to The Smokey Mountains from Philadelphia. We only stayed one night. We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children, so we like the larger 'suite' rooms that Country Inn and Suites has available. This hotel is conveniently off of Route 81 in a nice, clean, safe town. It is a clean, well maintained hotel but not 'new.' It has a Mexican Restaurant that shares the adjacent parking lot that I also reviewed highly. There is plenty of shopping and dining in the town in you have basic family needs or want something other than Mexican food to eat. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a complete list of dining and shopping in the area. They were also helpful in finding local tourist attractions. Pool, fitness room, lobby with coffee and cookies, included breakfast. Would stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.