We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Town, Clean, Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
snjmom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Town, Clean, Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nice town, clean, comfortable hotel. We stopped here en route to The Smokey Mountains from Philadelphia. We only stayed one night. We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children, so we like the larger 'suite' rooms that Country Inn and Suites has available. This hotel is conveniently off of Route 81 in a nice, clean, safe town. It is a clean, well maintained hotel but not 'new.' It has a Mexican Restaurant that shares the adjacent parking lot that I also reviewed highly. There is plenty of shopping and dining in the town in you have basic family needs or want something other than Mexican food to eat. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a complete list of dining and shopping in the area. They were also helpful in finding local tourist attractions. Pool, fitness room, lobby with coffee and cookies, included breakfast. Would stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    62
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
76
55
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The good: friendly desk clerk, clean room, quiet, fridge and microwave in room, good wifi, good full breakfast. Everything you would hope for in a midrange motel.
The odd: when I started to check in the front desk clerk gave me the room rate. I told her there was a cheaper rate posted online. She suggested I make an online reservation and offered the use of the lobby computers. Using my cellphone I made a reservation at the cheaper rate and was able to continue checking in. Here's the odd part, it was on the Country Inn And Suites website, not a second party booking! I don't know why they can't honor their own posted room rates.
The disappointing: The next day I realized I had left two clothing items hanging on back of the bathroom door, just an oversized tee and a pair of yoga pants, nothing "valuable". I called the hotel to report my loss and was told housekeeping had not turned in anything. I guess there was no attempt to even talk to the member of the housekeeping staff about the items, because even though she asked for my phone number so some could call me, I have not yet heard back. Just disappointed that a simple check with the person who cleaned the room could have retrieved my items was not done.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

7 of my college friends and I stayed overnight here June 1. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly, the rooms clean and attractive - and quiet, and the Mexican restaurant next door enjoyable. Also, they included a full breakfast the next morning which was more than I expected. I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: We asked for 2nd floor, on the back, as recommended by someone on TA. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was decent. Room was clean but the pool area needed a little work. Staff didn't know much about the area but were polite. It was close to the airport and downtown was not close but it was easy to get to from the hotel. We stayed 4 days with no real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay was our first encounter with this brand and I must say both my wife and I were quite impressed. From the warm greeting at check-in to the clean and fresh smelling room, we were quite pleased with our entire experience. The furniture was modern, the flat screen TV worked well and the Ice machine actually provided ice! Another pleasant surprise was the breakfast provided by the hotel the morning of our departure. Fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, along with a wide assortment of pastries, juices and condiments provided us with the best complementary breakfast we have every had at one of these chain hotels. This was our third attempt at finding a decent chain hotel in Roanoke and I don't think we will need to look any further.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My family and I have stayed here a few times over the years. The rooms are always clean and nice. One of the better indoor swimming pools and hot tubs. Always enjoy the free baked cookies. More than adequate breakfast.

Room Tip: One of the interesting things about this place (and possibly with many hotels in Roanoke) is that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

was traveling on I-81 and time to stop for the night.very convenient right off highway. We usually stay at Marriotts but the Fairfield wanted $149. Also stay at Hampton Inns and they were $119. Have stayed at Country Inn and suites and for the most part they are pretty good. front desk was very friendly, breakfast was good and the biggest room and most tables i have ever seen at a hotel that gives free breakfast, great! altho hotel was pretty empty as a great time of yr to travel. beds were verrrry hard tho so tossed and turned all night. girl at front desk said carlson properties are redoing rooms. restaurants not that close and ones listed close at 10 so we didnt have enough time so ate at the Hardees nearby. room was fine but bathroom needs updating, peeling paint and wallpaper and not too nice in the shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.