We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I pulled off the highway just past Roanoke thinking it was time to find a hotel for the night, no booking ahead or checking reviews. From the front desk reception to the exercise room, hottub and internet connection, everything was great. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. A good complimentary breakfast topped off a great stay at a very reasonable price

Room Tip: Access to the pool area is from the second floor which is nice rather than going through the main fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    67
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
90
64
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel Friday and Saturday night with a large group. Lobby is nice and front desk staff were pleasant. The hotel has been used hard and could use a fresh coat of paint, particularly on the outside room doors. Beds were comfortable. Nice big fridge and microwave in rooms. Breakfast was good and included in stay. Rooms were not very clean. The same debris that was on the room floor when we arrived was still there when we left 48 hours later. I guess they do not vacuum. The hotel was very accommodating for our group allowing us to use a meeting room several times during our stay. Overall, very average place but was what we expected for the price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have stayed here twice in the last two years on the way to or from Florida. The most recent stop we had driven over 11 hours and decided to 'just pull over at the next town'. We pulled into Roanoke and saw the Country Inn & Suites and realized that we had stayed in the same hotel the previous year on the way back from Florida. So it was an easy choice to stay again as we knew the hotel and had a pleasant stay the last time we visited.

The staff are friendly, fast and got me a room in no time. The rooms are large and clean. The pool is nice and big and was open until midnight which was a nice option.

Great breakfast and with hot options, a nice change from cold bagels and cereals of other hotel options.

The place is clean, food is good, staff are great and the location off the highway is perfect. The beds are comfy!!

Room Tip: We've always stayed on the first floor - not by choice, it is just the way it ended up. One tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped overnight at this property on a recent trip. The staff was very friendly, the room clean and comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning had hot options which was a nice change of pace from the usual continental fare. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel has been the favorite stop for my mother and me when we make road trips along the east coast. Very clean rooms, convenient location, and the staff remembered us after a year. We go out of our route to get to it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor rooms more than the first floor rooms. (They seemed newer.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here with my family over the Thanksgiving holiday. The staff was overall very friendly and helpful, but the property just seemed tired and not up to my expectations based on my stays at other Country Inns.

The hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking. The check-in process went smoothly. Breakfast each morning was very good. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool, though she said the water was very cold.

I was not impressed with the condition of my room. It was barely acceptable to me, and certainly not spotless. I found moldy caulking in the shower, peeling wallpaper, cobwebs on the ceiling, dusty fixtures under the desk, and HVAC filters maxed out with dust and dirt (I found this out later on). Some lights were not plugged in, and power outlets near the nightstand were scarce. We considered leaving, but ultimately decided to stay.

We returned to our room on the second day of our stay to find that the room had not been serviced at all. We left at 10am and returned at 10pm and did not leave the "do not disturb" sign on the door, so of course we expected it to be cleaned. No beds made, no trash emptied, dirty towels everywhere. I called the front desk, and a gentleman delivered us some fresh towels for the morning. The next morning I reported this to the front desk again, along with the cleanliness issues. The staff was helpful and friendly, and they switched rooms for us. The new room was cleaner, but still far from spotless.

I understand that issues do come up from time to time, and I appreciate the staff's help, but overall I was not impressed with this hotel and I am not planning to return.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 for a week. We turned up on a Sunday morning to book in - we were too early to get into a room. The lady (Helen) asked if we'd had breakfast and when we said we hadn't, she told us to help ourselves to the buffet breakfast there. It was l lovely breakfast, very extensive hot and cold selections, waffle maker, toasters, pastries etc. Whilst we were having breakfast, another lady came and told us Helen had arranged for a room to be made ready early for us and we could get into it after we were finished eating.
It was a lovely room, very clean and had sofa, microwave, fridge etc. We were very comfortable there and all the staff were so lovely and friendly - especially Helen.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, opposite the lift and we weren't disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.