We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to 81” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Convenient to 81”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times on our way back home. It is 1/2 mile from 81 and exit 146 just a little north of Roanoke Va. The parking is large. The hotel is clean and the rooms large a clean. One real plus is the pool. Our grand kids had a great time in this large warm pool. The breakfast is included and copious. The only negative is the noise from the AC and it is hard to regulate to a convenient temperature. The front desk people are friendly and have free cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    54
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
66
50
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We travel frequently to see family in Pennsylvania, and this has become our regular stop over. The staff is friendly. The hotel is clean, and have been very accommodating. We have stayed several times over the past 2 years and have never had a problem. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The string is finally broken.

We have stayed exclusively at Country Inns & Suites since we first discovered them and their franchise-wide no smoking anywhere in the building policy. It was great. Every one we went to was good.

Now, we found one that I would not stay at again. This particular CI&S property was dank. The first room we went to was so humid that I'm sure there was something growing under the carpet. Had to be because the scent of "Carpet Fresh" (or similar nasty odorant used to mask the smell) was strong. So we switched to an upper floor. That room wasn't much better, but it was 1 am and we had to sleep.

On our return trip back down I-81, we kept driving even though we were tired, just to reach another CI&S (separate review) another 90 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear SCDad,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We where driving from New York City to Nashville and stopped here overnight. We got to the hotel at 2:40 and they would not let us check in until 3:00 p.m. We did eat at the mexican place on the property, but we where not happy that they wouldn't let us check in 20 minutes earlier. Otherwise this hotel was fine for a one night stop over. Was close to the interstate which is why I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were on a trip from the east coast down to NC - on the way down we stayed at a fantastic C I & Suites in Wytheville, VA and loved it. This one not so much. We got to the hotel about 2:40 and were not allowed an early check in - which meant leaving and going and figuring out what to do until 3 p.m. The deskclerk was indifferent at first but then warmed up a bit with me. I found the room to be very outdated and in need of some TLC (peeling wallpaper in the bathroom) I just wasn't as comfortable as I was in the hotel in Wytheville. I did, however, enjoy the breakfast - hot scrambled eggs, good link sausage and biscuits. The ladies in the breakfast room work really hard - I hope people tip them like we did! My husband also took advantage of the workout room but later told me that it was pretty sad for a workout room - mentioned that even the treadmill was not electric?? Would not choose this particular hotel again. Enjoyed the Hyatt in Roanoke much better on a previous trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher room since one reviewer said you could hear footsteps above them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were making the drive from Maryland to Texas and stopped here overnight. It was a great choice... indoor hot tub and pool, large rooms with mini fridge and microwave, comfortable beds, coin operated laundry, EXCELLENT hot breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, cereal), free cookies and coffee in lobby and very friendly service. GPS took us into town instead of turning right off I81, but it still wasnt hard to find. This hotel was just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This property was recommended by a friend that lives in Roanoke. The hotel is just perfect. Located in a safe area, close to the interstate, restaurants, and activities. The included breakfast consisted of fresh waffles, eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal, juice, etc. And every afternoon there are fresh baked cookies as well as coffee in the lobby. Delicious. I was given a great room (2 queen beds) on the 2nd floor away from the noisy groups coming and going. It was very quiet and well lit. The room was large and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The staff was very kind and helpful and check-out was a breeze! I have been spoiled and will look for Country Inn & Suites hotels whenever I travel. I am a fan from now on!

Room Tip: The bus groups are put on the ground floor so ask for a room on the upper floors for a nice quiet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn
Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.