We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpet Fresh Does Not Equate to 'Clean'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
South Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Carpet Fresh Does Not Equate to 'Clean'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The string is finally broken.

We have stayed exclusively at Country Inns & Suites since we first discovered them and their franchise-wide no smoking anywhere in the building policy. It was great. Every one we went to was good.

Now, we found one that I would not stay at again. This particular CI&S property was dank. The first room we went to was so humid that I'm sure there was something growing under the carpet. Had to be because the scent of "Carpet Fresh" (or similar nasty odorant used to mask the smell) was strong. So we switched to an upper floor. That room wasn't much better, but it was 1 am and we had to sleep.

On our return trip back down I-81, we kept driving even though we were tired, just to reach another CI&S (separate review) another 90 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear SCDad,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    64
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
82
57
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We where driving from New York City to Nashville and stopped here overnight. We got to the hotel at 2:40 and they would not let us check in until 3:00 p.m. We did eat at the mexican place on the property, but we where not happy that they wouldn't let us check in 20 minutes earlier. Otherwise this hotel was fine for a one night stop over. Was close to the interstate which is why I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were on a trip from the east coast down to NC - on the way down we stayed at a fantastic C I & Suites in Wytheville, VA and loved it. This one not so much. We got to the hotel about 2:40 and were not allowed an early check in - which meant leaving and going and figuring out what to do until 3 p.m. The deskclerk was indifferent at first but then warmed up a bit with me. I found the room to be very outdated and in need of some TLC (peeling wallpaper in the bathroom) I just wasn't as comfortable as I was in the hotel in Wytheville. I did, however, enjoy the breakfast - hot scrambled eggs, good link sausage and biscuits. The ladies in the breakfast room work really hard - I hope people tip them like we did! My husband also took advantage of the workout room but later told me that it was pretty sad for a workout room - mentioned that even the treadmill was not electric?? Would not choose this particular hotel again. Enjoyed the Hyatt in Roanoke much better on a previous trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher room since one reviewer said you could hear footsteps above them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were making the drive from Maryland to Texas and stopped here overnight. It was a great choice... indoor hot tub and pool, large rooms with mini fridge and microwave, comfortable beds, coin operated laundry, EXCELLENT hot breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, cereal), free cookies and coffee in lobby and very friendly service. GPS took us into town instead of turning right off I81, but it still wasnt hard to find. This hotel was just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This property was recommended by a friend that lives in Roanoke. The hotel is just perfect. Located in a safe area, close to the interstate, restaurants, and activities. The included breakfast consisted of fresh waffles, eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal, juice, etc. And every afternoon there are fresh baked cookies as well as coffee in the lobby. Delicious. I was given a great room (2 queen beds) on the 2nd floor away from the noisy groups coming and going. It was very quiet and well lit. The room was large and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The staff was very kind and helpful and check-out was a breeze! I have been spoiled and will look for Country Inn & Suites hotels whenever I travel. I am a fan from now on!

Room Tip: The bus groups are put on the ground floor so ask for a room on the upper floors for a nice quiet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After driving up from Charlotte we were ready for a good sleep. Late check in was good, included cookies! Room 127 was clean, very comfy bed. His and hers sinks, nice touch.
Excercise room had what I needed.
Thin walls, but that seems to be the norm in USA.
Best breakfast by far of any of the hotels so far on our trip (7 so far).
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had just gotten off the Interstate outside of Roanoke & to be honest, we were heading to the Fairfield Inn. I was surprised to be told that they were all sold out for the night. One of the folks on duty told me that the Country Inn down the road was a nice property and perhaps I could get a room there.
I really appreciate the advice!
The Country Inn was much, much nicer than I could've hoped for.
The property looks very new and is in terrific shape. The decor right from the start in the main lobby is very attractive. The lobby also has a very comfortable seating area/lounge and actually has a nicely stocked bookcase with bestsellers of various sorts. These are available to guests and the policy is that you may return them to any Country Inn hotel. Also had electronic media for loan to guests.
The young lady Manager on duty, Dominique, was absolutely terrific! If there's any justice, this woman should move up in the company or get her own hotel!
We were met with a very friendly and welcoming demeanor and when she was checking room availability & rates she made sure to ask if we had any club affiliations offering discounts. When she noticed my ID and asked about my employment, she gave me the government rate.
Many properties used to offer gov't rates but in recent years many will only honor your ID if you work for that particular state. Obviously travelers will often be from out of state. OK, this might not mean much to most folks reading TripAdvisor reviews, but it goes to the heart of the professional courtesy we were extended at this hotel.

We were offered a room that would be more convenient for unloading our luggage and also apprised of the fact that the breakfast room is right adjacent to the main lobby. There's a nice hot complimentary breakfast included with your stay.

The hotel is so nicely built & decorated with lots of cherry wood mouldings and door frames, spotlessly clean & fresh carpets and a beautiful indoor pool as well as a whirlpool hot tub. There's a lounge area adjacent to the pool where you can take some sun and relax with a good book on a chaise.

Our room was beautifully decorated and more spacious than one commonly finds these days. The bathroom was modern and outfitted with luxury trimmings and fixtures.
Our bedroom was airy and fresh with none of that artificial scent.
The beds were some of the most comfortable we ever slept in. They had also provided different density pillows so you can choose firmer or softer to suit your desires.

The breakfast we had in the morning was again a cut above the usual hotel fare. The room & tables are comfortable and not at all crowded. You can choose from the simplest coffee and a croissant, hot or cold cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, breakfast meats, and too many more things to mention. A very good deal indeed!

Overall, I'd say that during our road trip up & down the East Coast the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson in Roanoke was one of the best hotels we found. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Honestly wouldn't even consider another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;