We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with nice staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Silver Spring
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. The front desk staff are very plesant. Rooms are nice and comfortable. I happen to like the bath/shower shampoo and moisturizing sundries here the most although I bring my own soap because most hotel soaps leave a dry feeling on your skin. Nice Pool area and breakfast is also good. Very convienent off I-81 outside Roanoke.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    58
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
69
54
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Running on empty, needing a place in a hurry for a short stay. This hotel was comfortable and clean. The room was spare and the TV was old but for me, the hotel was a perfect, short term stop. When I left, early, before breakfast was available, the woman at the desk asked me if I wanted breakfast to go since I was leaving before the room was open. Wow. That was so kind, thoughtful and rare. I would stay here again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

...says it all about this hotel. Located just off I-81 it is a great location for thru travelers. The hot tub and pool were great after a long day's drive. Good restaurant nearby. Desk clerk was helpful and friendly...cookies were a tasty treat.

Yes, we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The clerk was very nice and identified an excellent restaurant for dinner. The room was very clean and well furnished. The mattresses were very firm and would have been great for sleeping except for the bed covers. The bed coverings consisted of a single sheet and a heavy duvet (quilt). With the room temperature set to 68 degrees, sleeping under the quilt was too warm and sleeping without it was too cold. We found a light blanket the next morning but the night's sleep was not good.

Country Inn and Suites needs to put lighter blankets on their beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here last night on the way home from emergency trip to PA. Was very tired upon arriving. The young lady behind the desk was very accomodating in placing us in a room for convenience of getting our things in and out of the hotel. It was sooooo cold. We were able to park right in front of the side door and our room was right inside. She gave us a list of local restaurants to go. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTC,Ga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had to travel for a family funeral. Roanoke was the half way point for the trip, and I was very upset by the bad hotel rating for this area. I picked this hotel and crossed my fingers. Well not only was this a clean hotel it was very friendly as well. We were told that there is a coupon to save money.. (the red box of coupons at the Shell station). The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and hot things were hot. The only thing I could say is that there seems to be a lot of chlorine in the pool and spa (I was also sick with sinus issues). We are traveling this summer and making this trip for the happy event of a wedding, we as well as other family will be staying here again as we travel back and forth.

Room Tip: the Shell station has coupons in the red box
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on the way to our destination and liked it so much we stayed on the way back. Large, clean room, great breakfast and welcoming staff. This isn't the Ritz but it was exactly as expected for a hotel at this level with no complaints at all. Check in and check out was fast. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.